Finding Data & Statistics: Crime

UCSD Community and Campus Crimes

UC system campus safety data dashboards
Dashboard include UC-wide and campus-specific statistics for: budget and workforce, calls for service, civilian complaints, crimes, stops, and use of force.
Campus Safety and Security Data
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs).

California and San Diego Crime Stats

San Diego Police Department (SDPD) - Crime Statistics and Maps
Crime data for the city of San Diego.
SANDAG - Regional Criminal Justice Research and Clearinghouse
SANDAG supports local criminal justice planning and policymaking by providing analyses of crime occurrence, crime trends, and responses to crime in the region. Current and historical information about crime patterns and prevention, and crime-reduction strategies are maintained.
Crime Data from the California Office of the Attorney General
This site contains crime data submitted by county and local law enforcement agencies, as well as current and historical publications on crime, juvenile justice, homicide, and hate crimes in California. The interactive Criminal Justice Profiles create web-based presentations of data. This feature gives users more flexibility to tailor data tables to their specific inquiry. Additionally, datasets with the past 10 years of arrest and crime data are now downloadable.
Open Justice
A transparency initiative led by the California Department of Justice that publishes criminal justice data

US Crime Statistics

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data about criminal justice in the United States. More than 600 tables of statistics on topics including correctional facilities, police and sheriffs' departments, judges, nature and distribution of known offenses, attitudes
FBI - Uniform Crime Reports
Highlights links to major reports such as: Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics on crime trends, homicide trends and characteristics, law enforcement management and administrative details, and lists of prosecutors' offices.
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Access to statistics including population, housing, income and labor force for place, city, county and state from decennial Census. Web interface allows selection of multiple data elements to download. 1944-2000

ProQuest Statistical Insight
This is a searchable database which indexes statistical tables from a wide range of government and private resources such as the FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Municipal Profiles, which provide crime data at the community level. Searches provide a citation for locating the material and in many cases full tables. * Click on Search Abstracts.
* In Enter Keywords box type topic and state. (A sample search would be:"crime and massachusetts")
* Under Geographic check box for: By City (You can also or limit by date or click on limit to documents in Excel format only)
* Click on Search button.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service

National Archive of Criminal Justice (National Archive of Criminal Justice Data)
The archive offers a user-friendly interface to download data on criminal justice. The site includes Quick Tables of statistics and an online analysis tool, Data Analysis System (DAS).
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives data & statistics
This comprehensive collection of ATF-related data from national surveys, state-based surveys, other collected license statistics, and other data sources documents trends in firearms, commerce and use of federal services in the United States.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
OJJDP’s research provides information about the risk and protective factors that contribute to or deter youth’s involvement in juvenile justice systems.
Incarceration trends (Vera)
County and state statistics for jail and prison admissions and incarcerations. See methodology for details on data sources.

International Crime Statistics

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime - Data and Analysis
Includes the World Drug Report and other statistics.
ICVS Victims Survey 1989-2000-United Nations
Results of comparative survey of victim rates, fear of crime and subjective well-being. Note SAS and SPSS setup files.
more...less...
The data were collected in four waves: 1989, 1992, 1996, and 2000. The main focus of the ICVS is whether the respondent was a victim of theft of or from vehicles, other thefts, vandalism, robbery, pickpocketing, sexual harassment or violence, or assault. The ICVS National Survey Data cover the following countries: Australia, Belgium, Canada, Catalonia, Denmark, England and Wales, Finland, France, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States. The ICVS City Survey Data cover the following countries: Albania, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Botswana, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, Ukraine, and Zambia.
Intentional homicide, count per 100,000 population. U.N.
A variety of national and international sources on homicide have been considered to compile UNODC Homicide Statistics and, in order to present accurate and comparable statistics, data have been selected which conform as much as possible to the definition of intentional homicide used by UNODC for statistical purpose: ‘‘unlawful death purposefully inflicted on a person by another person”. All existing data sources on intentional homicides, both at national and international level, stem from either criminal justice or public health systems.

Crime and Justice Datasets

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
International Crime Victimization Survey (ICVS) Series @ ICPSR
Available through ICPSR, the ICVS is a collection of surveys of householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. Sample size is generally, 1,000 - 2,000 households from each participating country.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) @ ICPSR
The NACJD preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects. They have a collection of online Resource Guides that highlight popular criminal justice research topic.
National Crime Victimization Survey @ ICPSR
Previously called the National Crime Survey (NCS), has been collecting data on personal and household victimization since 1973. An ongoing survey, conducted twice each year, of a nationally representative sample of residential addresses.
United Nations International Study on Firearm Regulation
A country-level survey dealing with firearm regulation, including issues of ownership, possession and use; manufacturing and trade; smuggling and other illegal dealings; demographic, accident and crime statistics; and policy and public education initiatives. The survey instrument was distributed to Member States in 1996. The sample size is 78 countries.
Violence Against Women Resource Guide
A guide to data useful for the study of violence against women available from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data at ICPSR.
Stanford Open Policing Project
The Stanford Open Policing Project is collecting and standardizing data on vehicle and pedestrian stops from law enforcement departments across the country — and we’re making that information freely available. Includes over 200 million records from dozens of state and local police departments across the country.
Washington Post Fatal Force
In 2015, The Washington Post began to log every fatal shooting by an on-duty police officer in the United States. In that time there have been more than 5,000 such shootings recorded by The Post. (If you hit a paywall, try accessing the database through an incognito browser.)
USA Today police misconduct records
Journalists at USA TODAY and its affiliated newspapers across the country – and media partners including the Invisible Institute in Chicago – gathered records from thousands of state agencies, prosecutors and local police departments.
Gun Violence Archive
The Gun Violence Archive is an online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 7,500 law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. To access data, look for the small "Search Database" link in the upper right.
Rand - Gun Policy in America
RAND's Gun Policy in America initiative aims to establish a shared set of facts about the effects of gun laws to improve public discussions and support the development of fair and effective gun policies.
more...less...
Data and Tools include:
Changes in State Firearm Mortality
Firearm Injury Hospitalizations in America
Firearm Law Effects Tool
Firearm Restrictions Outcomes
Gun Ownership in America
Gun Policy Expert-Opinion Tool
State Firearm Law Navigator
State Firearm Mortality Explorer

Data
Inpatient Hospitalizations for Firearm Injury
State-Level Estimates of Household Firearm Ownership
State Firearm Law Database
State Gun Laws - Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence
Criminal Justice Administrative Records System (CJARS)
The Criminal Justice Administrative Records System (CJARS) is creating a nationally integrated repository of data following individuals through the criminal justice system. CJARS will become accessible to the research community in late 2020 through the Federal Statistical Research Data Center network. Plans for a public use dataset by 2022-2023 are in the works.