Finding Data & Statistics: San Diego & California

San Diego Statistics

Also see the Statistics page of the San Diego Government Information guide.

City of San Diego Open Data Portal
SANDAG Demographics and Other Data
Economic, demographic, and land use data and estimates for San Diego County cities, census tracts, and planning areas, zip codes, etc.
San Diego Regional Data Library
Indexes data from other San Diego sources as well as provides datasets processed by the organization. Includes collections: California Department of Education; Urban Planning; Homelessness; COVID-19; Police Data; and other datasets

Census data
A platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics collected by the Census Department:
American Community Survey
American Housing Survey
Annual Surveys of Governments
Census of Governments
Annual Economic Surveys
Decennial Census
Economic Census
Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation
Population Estimates Program
Puerto Rico Community Survey

San Diego Crime Statistics and Maps
ARJIS: Automated Regional Justice System for San Diego
Criminal justice data for selected cities in San Diego County, available monthly from 1998 to the present. Data can be broken down by council district, city neighborhood, and other geographic subregions.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Social Explorer
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat. Presidential, senatorial, congressional and gubernatorial election data comes from Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections and is available for map presentation only.

Open San Diego
We are a group of civic-minded San Diegans who meet regularly to learn how to best help citizens and local government have a more informed relationship with each other.
Join the conversation and help if you can. Everyone is welcome at every skill level!

The following legacy datasets are available through the archived version of our website. Please contact Annelise Sklar if you need additional assistance with one of these datasets.

Common Core Public Education Data for San Diego County
1993-1997
Variables include number of teachers and students, high school graduates, number of staff, and dropout data for grades 7-12 by race. Data is for selected schools and districts.
San Diego Neighborhood Data, 1990
Neighborhood data from the U.S. Census User-Defined Areas Program (UDAP) for the City of San Diego: see the list of the urban areas overed. Summary and detailed level data for most San Diego neighborhoods and planning areas.
San Diego Customs District Imports and Exports
1997-1999
Import and export data for the San Diego Customs District, including all ports of entry in San Diego County. Specific files include imports and exports to and from Mexico.
Vital Statistics, San Diego County - 1990-1998
Health data for San Diego County and selected subregional areas. Wide range of epidemilogical data by race/ethnicity, age group, etc. The full study description with complete data files is also available via the Social Sciences Data Collection.

California Statistics

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguides for more detail. If you are having trouble connecting, check the status page to see if Sage Data is down.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Social Explorer
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat. Presidential, senatorial, congressional and gubernatorial election data comes from Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections and is available for map presentation only.

Agriculture Statistics - USDA, National Agriculture Statistics Service
California State Budget Documents
California Statistical Abstract
Print volumes: CA Stacks, F380 S8
DataQuest
Find facts about California schools and districts.
Data-Z (formerly State Data Lab)
Data-Z (formerly State Data Lab) is a project of Truth in Accounting and funded by the Robert R. McCormick Foundation. It includes state financial, demographic, and economic data with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.
Department of Finance Reports
Includes: Accounting Reports; Audit Reports, Memos and Letters; Budget Reports; California Single Audit Reports; Demographic Reports; Economic and Revenue Updates; Legislative Analyses; State Leadership Accountability Act Reports
Labor Market Information for California
Includes detailed Local Area Profiles with unemployment rates, industry employment, economic indicators, etc.; Occupation Profile (wages, outlook, licensing, etc.), industry stats, unemployment stats, economic indicators, and data by geography.
OpenJustice from the California Department of Justice
Includes downloadable crime, criminal justice,and policing statistics by county, annual reports, and data visualizations. Topics include:
Arrests
Civilians' Complaints Against Peace Officers
Crime
Death in Custody
Domestic Violence-Related Calls for Assistance
Firearms
Hate Crime
Homicide
Juvenile Court & Probation
Law Enforcement Officers Killed or Assaulted
Use of Force
Violent Crimes Committed Against Senior Citizens
Public Policy Institute of California
Nonprofit with reports and data on economic development, education, employment and income, environment, government, health, housing, immigration, infrastructure, political participation, population, public finance, social policy, transportation, and water
UCLA Anderson Forecast
This long-standing quarterly publication forecasts U.S. and California economies, that strives to be unbiased in its approach. Online back to 2011, and in print back to 1997. Partner publications from this site include:
- Allen Matkins’ California Commercial Real Estate Survey (which covers San Diego and the rest of the large metro areas of California)
- City Human Capital Index (which covers Los Angeles, the Bay Area and zip codes in California),
- Los Angeles City Monthly Employment Estimate.
Visit California: Research & Trends
Statistics on California tourism and the economic impact of travel in California.

California Datasets

Data.CA.Gov
Includes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources.
California Field Poll
Downloadable Field Poll data. The Field (California) Poll, founded in 1947, has operated continuously as a California statewide survey of opinions and attitudes on social and political issues.