Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Agencies & Portals
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Presents data on all modes of transportation.
Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.
Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Congressional Budget Office
The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.
Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.
Defense Management Data Center
Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.
Economic Research Service
Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.
Energy Information Administration
Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.
Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.
Access to data on a wide range of topics, including COVID-19, environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
Internal Revenue Service
Tax statistics for business, individuals, and charitable organizations and additional statistics about the tax system.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics
Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Presents data on immigrants by legal status.
Travel Restrictions under Presidential Proclamations 9645 and 9983
Monthly statistical reports from the State Dept., Sept. 2019 - Jan. 2021, on visa applications affected by travel ban.
Data and statistics by topic.
Agricultural Statistics, Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Business Statistics of the United States
(Print only) A comprehensive collection of data that reflects the nation’s economic performance since 1929. It provides annual data in regional, demographic and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product; personal income; spending; saving; employment and unemployment; the capital stock
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
County and city extra : annual metro, city and county data book
(Print only) Key demographic and economic data (1990- ) for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and all cities in the U.S. with a 2010 population of 25,000 or more.
Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
(Print only.) A comprehensive reference providing data on a variety of topics including: employment and unemployment; earnings; prices; productivity; consumer expenditures; employment projections by industry and occupation; occupational safety and health; union membership; international labor comparisons.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
National Transportation Statistics
Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, ProQuest
(Print only) Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (Replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication, which are available online
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.
Data Is Plural - Federal Resources
The resources below were not published by the federal government, but provide access to federal statistics/data.
Datapedia of the United States
(Print only) Presents the best available data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation.
Demand Progress Data Sets
Federal appropriations data.
Global Financial Database
Provides some 6500 historical and current financial and economic data series from over 180 countries. Many series reach back with deep data runs to prior centuries. Easy graphing and downloading is available on the system.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Comprehensive survey and tabulation of historical statistics from government agencies and other sources, covering all aspects of US population and economy. View tables or download as Excel files.
ICPSR Data Archive
World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
1973-present. Abstracts and indexes statistical publications of U.S. federal and state governments, nonprofit and educational institutions, private publishers, and international agencies. Full text often included.
1790- . This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940.
Guides to Sources of Statistics
Appendix I (2019)
Guide to sources used in the 2019 edition of the Statistical Abstract.