Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Executive Branch Resources
The library has physical copies of several of these titles. Please use UC Library Search to find those items; I recommend changing the default Search for: "Articles, books, and more" to "Library Catalog."
American Presidency Project
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913); Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2007); Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009); Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (2007-2015); and various additional publications relating to the Presidency, with scattered date coverage.
Budget of the U.S. Government
(1996- ). Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Code of Federal Regulations
(1938- ). Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. See also the List of CFR Sections Affected
, which lists proposed, new, and amended regulations published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision of the CFR.
Note: Volumes for 1996- are freely available to all users via GPO.
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1929
Contains most of the presidential papers through Hoover's Inauguaral Address of 1929.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Includes the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Supplemental info includes Acts Approved by the President, Checklist of White House Press Releases, Digest of Other White House Announcements, and Nominations Submitted to the Senate.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report (1947- ) that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Note: 1947- are freely available to all users: 1995-present via GPO and 1947-present via FRASER
Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama (1937-2017); full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama. From January 20, 2017 to present, executive orders and disposition tables are available only on federalregister.gov
Executive Orders and Other Presidential Documents: Sources & Explanations
Identifies major sources for Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents. The site also links to many sources, such as CRS reports, that explain these documents.
(1936- ). The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Note: volumes for 1994- are also freely available to all users via GPO.
Presidential Library Explorer
Visualization tool that offers a path into the digitized holdings of NARA’s Presidential Libraries, including texts, photos, and video/audio.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
(1929- ). Includes addresses & remarks, appointments & nominations, bill signings & vetoes, communications to Congress & federal agencies, executive orders, media interviews, joint statements, letters & messages, meetings with foreign leaders and international officials, proclamations, resignations & retirements, and statements by the President.
Note: Volumes for 1991- are freely available to all users via GPO.
Proposed rules and regulations issued by federal agencies. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues.
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Adivsory Bodies
List of more than 6,000 reports and other documents from the administrations of Andrew Jackson to Barack Obama are indexed by commission/advisory body name, report title, report subject and presidential administration. Links to the full text of the reports are provided whenever possible
State of the Union Addresses
Text of each President's messages to Congress.
Links to the Executive Office of the President; executive departments; independent agencies; boards, commissions, and committees; and quasi-official agencies.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
(1965-2009). Presidential proclamations, signing statements, speeches, communications to agencies & Congress, appointments & nominations, and materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Note: Volumes for 1993- are freely available to all users via GPO.