Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Directories of Federal Offices & Officials
1997-current. Information about older editions can be found in the library catalog
Contact Your Government
Contact information for U.S. government officials, programs, departments and agencies.
Directory of foreign missions (e.g. embassies) in the U.S. Contains names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses, along with the embassy's contact information.
Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
(Print only.) Describes the activities and personnel of groups and committees that advise the President of the United States and various departments and bureaus of the federal government, as well as detailed information about historically significant committees.
Federal Agency List
Alphabetical listing of federal departments and agencies.
Federal Regulatory Directory
Guide to the history, organization and impact of U.S. federal regulation.
Find Government Agencies
Offers an A-Z list of government offices, as well as lists for each branch of the federal government and state/local/tribal government offices.
GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
Lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.
Find contact information for government officials, using criteria such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location. Contains 14 leadership directory yellow books, including: Congressional, Federal, Federal Regional, Government Affairs, Judicial, State, Municipal, and Foreign Representatives.
Mobile Apps Directory
List of free apps that help find government information.
Lists federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the federal government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment. Covers positions such as agency heads and their immediate subordinates, policy executives and advisors, and aides who report to these officials. Published after each Presidential election.
United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the federal government provides comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
Washington Information Directory
Directory of U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations. Provides capsule descriptions to help find the right person at the right organization. Find information by name, by organization, or via subject indexes. Link includes access to editions for 1975/76 - 2013/14 available via HathiTrust.
(Print only.) Direct contact information for lobbyists, lobbying firms, and client organizations.
This tool from the Washington Post and Partnership for Public Service tracks more than 500 key executive branch nominations through the confirmation process. These positions include Cabinet secretaries, deputy and assistant secretaries, chief financial officers, general counsel, heads of agencies, ambassadors and other critical leadership positions.
Offices are listed in order of succession to the Presidency. Those below include unconfirmed nominees for the Biden administration.