It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lists and describes federal publications (primarily 1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. (See next tab for pre-1976 documents.)
You know you're going to use it, so use it efficiently: add site:.gov (site colon dot gov) to your keywords to limit searching to government websites. You can also limit searches to a specific department's or agency's website, such as site:dhs.gov (site colon dhs dot gov) to find only results from the Department of Homeland Security.
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more. For a complete list of currently available titles and priority titles to be added in the future, see Appendix B & C of GPO’s System of Online Access Collection Development Plan.
Traces depository publications through agency changes and assigned SuDoc numbers. Entries include title, publication history, ISSN, frequency of distribution, short descriptions, and notes about changes. Provides agency, title, and keyword in title indexes. The "Agency Class Chronology" traces the history of all agencies current or defunct. (Print only.)
Offers access to a vast number of publications from all three branches of the federal government. Search across collections from this main page, or click on a collection link to browse titles.
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Cataloging Legal Literature
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Federal Register Library
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
History of International Law
History of Supreme Court Nominations
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Law Journal Library
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Subject Compilations of State Laws
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated
World Treaty Library
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Provides access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, legislative calendars, committee rules of procedure, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Print only, 2013- . (Replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication, which are available online).
Use our catalog to find hard copy documents in our collection, as well as links to online documents. Use the "browse search" in the top menu to search by SuDoc number. Click the Library Catalog bubble at top to exclude journal articles, course reserves, and other items unlikely to be federal materials.
This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees. (Historical editions to 1935 available via govinfo.)
Over 50 million records of material cataloged by libraries. Often includes links to online full-text government publications.
Links for print volumes go the UCSD Library catalog, which provides call number and location information for these resources. See the online Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for titles published primarily 1976- .
Since 2006, the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has harvested Congressional web sites at the end of each Congress. They also did a wider harvest of federal websites for the 2004 Presidential transition.
Not specific to government publications, but offers access to digital content from a number of partners including the National Archives, HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Government Publishing Office, Library of Congress, and more.
Coral Reef Database System (CoRIS) Coral Data & Publications Catalog, National Marine Fisheries Service's Voices Oral History Archives, Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection, National Sea Grant Library publications, and National Weather Service Heritage documents.
Government publications can be challenging to cite for a variety of reasons. Indiana University'sCiting U.S. Government Publications offers excellent help for citing different formats and types of federal resources.