Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Government Information: By Title

Guide to information resources by and about the federal government.

Major publications of the federal government

This list includes titles that comprise the FDLP's "Basic Collection" and the now-decomissioned (as of 8/19) "Essential Titles for Public Use in Paper or Other Tangible Format," as well as titles frequently used for general reference assistance.

The UCSD Library has alternate access points (print, microfilm/fiche, cd-rom, online databases) for many of these resources; if the links do not include date coverage of interest, please search the Library catalog or contact us for additional help.

See also...

State Department Reports - as of 1/28/21

The State Department does not have a full publications/reports page, but instead has reports listed under the responsible office. This list compiles serials found there.

Some titles currently have access issues, as the department's website is undergoing transition re-design. Where titles are not available on the department website, a link to the Internet Archive is included. The department also has a 2017-2021 archive.


Advancing Freedom and Democracy (see archive)

Adherence to and Compliance with Arms Control, Nonproliferation, and Disarmament Agreements and Commitments (Compliance Report)

American Studies Abroad: Progress and Difficulties in Selected Countries

Annual Report on Assistance Related to International Terrorism

Annual Report on Intercountry Adoptions

Annual Report, U.S. Advisory Commission on Educational Exchange

Annual report, U.S. Advisory Commission on Information

Annual report, U.S. Advisory Commission on International Exchange and Cultural Affairs

Annual report, U.S. Commission on Public Diplomacy

Can Public Diplomacy Survive The Internet?

Comprehensive Annual Report on Public Diplomacy and International Broadcasting

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices

Country Reports on Terrorism

The Department of State’s Plan To Implement the U.S. Strategy on Women, Peace, and Security

Diplomatic List

End-Use Monitoring Report

Foreign Affairs Manual and Handbooks

Foreign Military Training and DoD Engagement Activities of Interest

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

Functional Bureau Strategies

Integrated Country Strategies

International Narcotics Control Strategy Reports

International Religious Freedom Report

Investment Climate Statements

Joint Regional Strategies

Joint Strategic Plan

Key Officers of Foreign Service Posts

National Drug Control Strategy

Optimizing Engagement: Research, Evaluation, and Learning in Public Diplomacy

PEPFAR Annual Report to Congress on HIV Treatment

PEPFAR Annual Reports to Congress on the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief

Presidential Determination on Major Drug Transit or Major Illicit Drug Producing Countries (Majors List)  (see archive)

Public Diplomacy and the New “Old” War: Countering State-Sponsored Disinformation

Reimagining Public Diplomacy’s Organizational Structure at the U.S. Department of State

Report On The Reasons That Continued Implementation Of The New START Treaty is in The National Security Interest Of The United States (see archive)

Report to Congress on Proposed Refugee Admission for Fiscal Year...

Section 655 Annual Military Assistance

State Magazine

State of Global Partnerships Report

Teaching Public Diplomacy and the Information Instruments of Power in a Complex Information Environment

To Walk the Earth in Safety

Trafficking in Persons Report

Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)

Treaties in Force

Universal Periodic Review

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

U.S. Contributions to International Organizations

U.S. Participation in the United Nations

U.S. Strategy on Women, Peace, and Security

U.S. Treaty Reports

Visa Bulletin

Voting Practices in the United Nations

World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers (WMEAT) (see archive)