Skip to main content

U.S. Government Information: Federal Advisory Committees

Guide to information resources by and about the federal government.

About Federal Advisory Committees (FACA)

The Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) applies to the "numerous committees, boards, commissions, councils, and similar groups which have been established to advise officers and agencies in the executive branch of the Federal Government and that...are frequently a useful and beneficial means of furnishing expert advice, ideas, and diverse opinions to the Federal Government."  FACA requires that Congress and the public be kept informed about the existence and activities of these committees, which is accomplished primarily through the FACA Database.

From the database home page, click "agencies/committees" to see committees by agency.

From that page, clicking the arrow next to an agency will show a full list of the agency's current and terminated committees; the "committee reports" link provides charter dates and brief information about the committee. Clicking the name of an agency will show contact info for FACA personnel. The "agency reports" links lead to information about charter dates, committee group names, subcommittees, performance measures (e.g. significant program outcomes, associated cost savings, number of recommendations made, percentage of recommendations implemented by agency), number of committees (including breakdown by authority, type, etc.), and more.

The FACA database does not include text of committee reports, meeting minutes, etc. For those and similar materials, you should check the committee's website. It is *generally* possible to find the committee's website address using the database "search" feature, but I have found a general Google search to be quicker and more accurate.

The list below is a highly selective list of current advisory committees, with an emphasis on those related to science and environmental issues. I have archived 2017- reports and meetings material for these committees in the Internet Archive, and will monitor/archive new material as available.

Committee Information

Links are provided below for reports and meetings pages for each committee, if those materials appear on a page other than the home page.  Meeting materials are very useful, as they often provide agendas, minutes, and presentations.

Advisory Commission on Childhood Vaccines (ACCV)  reports  meetings
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP)  recommendations meetings
Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) reports meetings
Bears Ears National Monument Advisory Committee    
Biological and Environmental Research Advisory Committee (BERAC)  reports meetings
Board of Scientific Counselors National Center for Health Statistics (BSC,NCHS)   meetings
California Desert District Advisory Council    
Census National Advisory Committee (NAC)   meetings
Census Scientific Advisory Committee (CSAC)   meetings
Children's Health Protection Advisory Committee (CHPAC)  letters meetings
Clean Air Act Advisory Committee (CAAAC)  reports meetings
Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC)   reports meetings
Defense Science Board (DSB) (see also, older archive) reports  
Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee   meetings
Environmental Financial Advisory Board (EFAB)    
EPA Board of Scientific Counselors (EPA BOSC) reports meetings
EPA National Advisory Committee (NAC) and Governmental Advisory Committee (GAC)   NAC letters | GAC letters meetings
EPA Science Advisory Board (EPA SAB)  reports meetings
Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Advisory Committee (FRRCC) reports meetings
Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act Scientific Advisory Panel (FIFRA SAP)   meetings
Good Neighbor Environmental Board (GNEB) reports meetings
Great Lakes Advisory Board (GLAB)    
Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest System Advisory Board (e-Manifest)    
Homeland Security Advisory Council (HSAC)    
Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee (HSSTAC)    
Human Studies Review Board (HSRB)   meetings
International Wildlife Conservation Council (IWCC)    
Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC)    
NASA Advisory Council (NAC) recs | findings meetings
NASA Applied Sciences Advisory Committee (ASAC)    
NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee (APAC)    
NASA Earth Science Advisory Committee (ESAC)    
NASA Heliophysics Advisory Committee (HPAC)    
NASA NAC Science Committee   meetings
NASA Planetary Science Advisory Committee (PAC)    
National Advisory Environmental Health Sciences Council (NAEHSC)    
National Drinking Water Advisory Council (NDWAC) letters meetings
National Environmental Education Advisory Council (NEEAC)   meetings
National Environmental Justice Advisory Council (NEJAC) recommendations meetings
National Park System Advisory Board reports meetings
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (NWSAC)    
NOAA Science Advisory Board (SAB) reports meetings
Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) reports meetings
Ocean Exploration Advisory Board (OEAB) reports | letters & recommendations meetings
Pesticide Program Dialogue Committee (PPDC)    
President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST)   meetings
Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals (SACC)   meetings
Science Board to the Food and Drug Administration   meetings 2019 | older
Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory Committee (SESAC)    
Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB)    
Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program Scientific Advisory Board (SERDP SAB)    
Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission