Finding Data & Statistics: COVID-19

Includes data on hospitalizations, deaths, vaccination distribution and coverage, genomic data, and more.

The COVID-19 Data Repository is a repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic. This is a free self-publishing option for any researcher who wants to share data related to COVID-19.

A repository of the clinical characteristics of patients who have taken a COVID-19 test. The data includes clinical characteristics (epidemiologic factors, comorbidities, vitals, clinician-assessed symptoms, patient-reported symptoms), in addition to radiological and laboratory findings. It does not include treatment plans, complications, and clinical outcomes, which is collected at inpatient facilities. Details about each field are available in the data dictionary.

The Household Pulse Survey is a 20-minute online survey studying how the coronavirus pandemic is impacting households across the country from a social and economic perspective. The survey asks questions about how childcare, education, employment, food security, health, housing, social security benefits, household spending, consumer spending associated with stimulus payments, intention to receive a COVID-19 vaccination, and transportation have been affected by the ongoing crisis.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics has developed new data on how U.S. businesses changed their operations and employment since the onset of the coronavirus pandemic through September 2020. This information, in combination with data collected by other current BLS surveys, will aid in understanding how businesses responded during the pandemic. Other BLS statistics collected and published during the pandemic provide indications of changes in employment, wages, job openings and terminations, employer-provided benefits, and safety and health. The new data provides additional insights by asking employers directly what they experienced as a result of the pandemic and how they responded. Note: survey ended in September 2020.

The Small Business Pulse Survey (SBPS) measures the effect of changing business conditions during the Coronavirus pandemic on our nation's small businesses. The survey includes information on small business operations and finances, requests and receipt of assistance, vaccines, capital expenditures, and expectations for recovery. Data is available by sector and state for the fifty most populous Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs). Note: the data collection period for the Small Business Pulse Survey is now closed.

Conducted by the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, this five-question survey has been conducted daily
since March 10, 2020. Asked of a small, representative sample of the U.S. population each day, it
attempts to measure consumers’ beliefs and expectations of COVID-19’s economic impact, among other things. Results are updated on a weekly basis.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics added questions to the Current Population Survey (CPS) to help gauge the effects of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic on the labor market. These questions were asked beginning in May 2020 and will remain in the CPS until further notice. These questions ask whether people teleworked or worked from home because of the pandemic; whether people were unable to work because their employers closed or lost business due to the pandemic; whether they were paid for that missed work; and whether the pandemic prevented job-seeking activities.

In response to COVID-19, the Bureau of Economic Analysis created a report that uses daily payment credit card data to measure the effects of the pandemic on consumer spending in key industries hard-hit by the virus. The report is updated on a bi-weekly basis.

Data about the SBA-backed loans during COVID-19. Note: the Paycheck Protection Program ended on May 31, 2021.

This Bureau of Economic Analysis webpage will consolidate information about the COVID-19 virus and federal stimulus programs as they relate to BEA's economic data. Includes effects of selected federal pandemic response programs on: personal income; state personal income; federal government receipts, expenditures, and saving; and Paycheck Protection Program Subsidies by Industry.

The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey (MCBS), sponsored by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Office of Enterprise Data and Analytics (OEDA) through a contract with NORC at the University of Chicago is a continuous, in-person, longitudinal survey of a representative national sample of the Medicare population. It has been carried out continuously for more than 25 years, encompassing more than one million total interviews. COVID-19 supplement PUblic Use File (PUF) data is available for: Summer 2020, Fall 2020, Winter 2021.

The survey will ask about topics such as instructional mode offered; enrollment counts of subgroups of students using various instructional modes; learning loss mitigation strategies; safe and healthy school mitigation strategies; special education services; use of technology; and information on staffing. A sample of approximately 1,200 public elementary, middle, high, and combined-grade schools will be selected to participate in a panel where school and district staff will be asked to provide requested data monthly during the 2021-22 school year. The content of the survey may change on a quarterly basis. First data release is expected August 2021.

The GenderSci Lab’s Gender/Sex COVID Data Tracker reports up-to-date and historical gender/sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19 cases and fatalities for 50 US States and 2 US Territories.

Database of state policies on closures, shelter-in-place orders, housing protections, changes to Medicaid and SNAP, physical distancing closures, reopening, and more created by researchers at the Boston University School of Public Health. Policies included are state-wide directives or mandates, not guidance or recommendations.

Geographic Coverage: Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Utah, Texas, Tennessee, South Dakota, South Carolina, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Oregon, Oklahoma, Ohio, North Carolina, North Dakota, New York, New Mexico, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Nevada, Nebraska, Montana, Missouri, Mississippi, Minnesota, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Louisiana, Kentucky, Kansas, Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Idaho, Hawaii, Georgia, Florida, District of Columbia, Delaware, Connecticut, Colorado, California, Arkansas, Arizona, Alaska, Alabama

Collection of municipal responses to COVID-19. The information was collected through active research and direct submissions from local leaders from February 2020 to February 2022. Includes 800 cities; filter by themes: public health, city operations, infrastructure, housing, and economic/workforce development.

Pew Research Center conducts US-based public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. COVID-19 research topic portal contains statistics about COVID-19 from the lens of science, politics, economy, technology, and others.

The KFF Health Tracking Poll is the Kaiser Family Foundation’s signature survey project, providing consistent and up-to-date information on the public’s opinions, knowledge, and experiences with the U.S. health care system. Search 'covid' to return results related to COVID-19.

WAPOR has compiled links to country-level public opinion research for 39 countries, as well as multicounty studies.

Comprehensive and up-to-date Twitter dataset about COVID-19, starting from January 21, 2020. The datasets are updated daily. For each day, there are 24 separated text files, each file representing one hour's data, except for January 21, in which only two hours of data is available. File name is structured as "coronavirus-tweet-id-2020-mm-dd-hour", and it enables users to break down Twitter discussions by hours.
From: The Information Science Institute, University of Southern California

This is a multi-language collection of Twitter data (3/22/2020- present). Both the full dataset and the cleaned version (no retweets) are available. The most popular terms, bigrams and trigrams are also provided for NLP tasks in their GitHub repository. From: Georgia State University

This large-scale multilingual Twitter dataset captures tweets about COVID-19 with geolocation information, extracted from the tweets’ location information and tweet content. It covers tweets from February 1, 2020 to May 1, 2020, with 218 countries, 47K cities in the world, and 62 different languages.

This is a comprehensive dataset for researchers to explore popular discourses about the COVID-19 pandemic. It contains daily tweets files (each file has tweets of an hour), starting from January 22, 2020. In addition to the tweets files, it also provides summary details, sentiment, summary hashtag, summary mentions, summary NER (and daily tops), and features table. It is well prepared as a training set for the study of “(mis)information diffusion, semantic networks, sentiment, and the evolution of COVID-19 discussions”.

This dataset contains COVID-related tweets with date, keywords, and inferred geolocation included. The daily data files are in json format. From: Johns Hopkins University

TweetsCOV19 is a semantically annotated corpus of Tweets about the COVID-19 pandemic. It is a subset of TweetsKB and aims at capturing online discourse about various aspects of the pandemic and its societal impact. Metadata information about the tweets as well as extracted entities, sentiments, hashtags, user mentions, and resolved URLs are exposed in RDF using established RDF/S vocabularies.” The latest version is updated to April 2020.

This dataset is used for a research article titled An Exploratory Study of COVID-19 Misinformation on Twitter. Two datasets are presented in this repository. There are two datasets in this repository. According to the authors, “the first dataset are the tweets which have been mentioned by fact-checking websites and are classified as false or partially false and the second dataset consists of COVID-19 tweets collected from publicly available corpus TweetsCOV19 (January-April 2020) and in-house crawling from May-July 2020.”

CoAID (Covid-19 heAlthcare mIsinformation Dataset) is a diverse COVID-19 healthcare misinformation dataset, including fake news on websites and social platforms, along with users' social engagement about such news. It includes 1,896 news, 183,564 related user engagements, 516 social platform posts about COVID-19, and ground truth labels.”

The dataset contains 4573 annotated tweets across 17 themes related to COVID-19. Their annotation codebook is also presented. This annotated dataset can be used for studies related to misinformation detection and characterization.

This dataset is collected from Sina Weibo, a Chinese microblogging platform similar to Twitter. This dataset was used to analyze COVID-related misinformation, starting from December 7, 2019 to April 4, 2020.

This dataset collects bi-lingual (English, Spanish) Twitter data, and is unique in its geographic focus. It is a digital humanities project covering Southern Florida and Latin American countries, starting from late April 2020. From: University of Miami