Full-text content (but not page images) of more than 650 U.S. newspapers, including 116 in California. Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government. Part of a larger database with international coverage. Dates vary, but very little before the late 1980s.
1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Coverage is mostly 1980s to present, though some as far back as 1960s. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
1984- . Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-2018 and 1922-91.
Cover to cover article text and page images of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).
Also includes:
Civil War Era
Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922)
The American Israelite (1854 - 2000)
The Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
The Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1978)
The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992)
The Boston Globe (1872-1986)
Calgary Herald: (1883-2010)
Chicago Defender (1909-1995)
Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004)
The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009)
Cleveland Call & Post (1934 - 1991)
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (1917 - 2013)
Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922)
Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999)
Edmonton Journal (1903-2010)
The Globe and Mail (1844 - 2014)
The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003)
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992)
Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016)
The Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008)
The Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990)
The Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990)
The Korea Times (1956 - 2016)
Le Monde (1944 - 1995)
Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010)
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845 - 2015)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005)
Louisville Courier Journal
Michigan Chronicle (1936 - 2010)
Le Monde (1944 - 1995)
Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010
Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002)
Newsday (1940 - 1989)
New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003)
Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003)
The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010)
Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009)
The Scotsman (1817 - 1950)
South China Morning Post
St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003)
St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901 - 2009)
Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010)
The Times of India
Toronto Star (1894 - 2015)
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010)
Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
Free New York Times Academic Site License Pass Accounts For Students, Faculty, Staff
Associated Students UCSD and UC San Diego Library have partnered to bring complimentary NYTimes.com access to current students, faculty, and staff beginning January 1, 2022
Follow the steps shown in the box below to create your own free account. With registration complete you can access the newspaper site directly or via its downloadable app. Faculty and staff registrants under this campus academic pass program will receive accounts good for four years, renewable upon expiration by re-validation with campus domain e-mail. New student participants will receive accounts good through December 31 of the graduation year entered during the online registration process.
