LibGuides: Classical Studies: Home

Collection Profile

Supplementum epigraphicum graecum online
Brill proudly presents this new website to provide the reader with the online version of the annual publication Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG). SEG collects newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents (from archaic Greek texts up to the 8th century A.D.) and presents the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions. Additionally, it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, occasionally also mentioning their original text.
Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy
Covers all facets of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece in order to better understand and appreciate the great surviving work of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and their contemporaries.

Oxford Classical Dictionary
Includes over 6,000 full-text online articles from the print 4th edition as well as newly commissioned and entries updated monthly.

Acta Sanctorum
Online version of encyclopedic work (published 1643-1940) on the lives of Christian saints. Key resource for the history of Christianity and the Latin Middle Ages.
L'Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography)
1969-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.

Loeb Classical Library
More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
more...less...
Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.

Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic focus is the Aegean; the chronological range is the prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
Patrologia Latina
The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453.

Classics Studies
Scholarly resources in Classics Studies, focusing on on the Ancient Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods. The resources are primarily freely available and have undergone an evaluation process.

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.