LibGuides: Human Developmental Sciences: Databases

Recommended Databases

You must be logged into the VPN if working from off-campus to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon.

These are great resources for topic development and to learn about the terminology currently being used.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary databases with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications. For full-text use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database with journal in all subject areas. Especially useful to find articles that have cited another article (e.g. to find current literature).

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
From the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to educational-related literature.
PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Includes publications related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance.

Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Includes publications from the library and information sciences, including informal learning environments like museums.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Includes publications from the library and information sciences, including informal learning environments like museums.

CINAHL
Includes publications from the allied health discipline, including nursing and occupational therapy.

Sociological Abstracts
Includes publications in the areas of sociology, social work, and related social sciences.