Human Developmental Sciences: Finding Sources

Access to Library Resources

Licensed e-resources are available to UCSD affiliates. Connect to the VPN or Protected Wi-Fi network to access these resources.

The Get it at UC link will provide options for accessing the full text of an article from within UC Library Search, databases, and even Google Scholar if using the Library Links setting. If there are no online access links or the print is unavailable from the Library, you must request the item from within UC Library Search.

Sources

Interdisciplinary Databases [multiple subject areas]

These are great resources for topic development and to learn about the terminology currently being used.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary databases with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications. For full-text use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus.

UC Library Search
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets, and primary resources, archives, and special collections.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database with journal in all subject areas. Especially useful to find articles that have cited another article (e.g. to find current literature).

Education & Psychology

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
From the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to educational-related literature.
PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Gerontology

Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Includes publications related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance.

Informal Learning Environments (e.g. museums)

Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Includes publications from the library and information sciences, including informal learning environments like museums.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Includes publications from the library and information sciences, including informal learning environments like museums.

Linguistics

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
Includes publications in linguistics. A great resource for literature about language development.

Occupational & Physical Therapy

CINAHL
Includes publications from the allied health discipline, including nursing and occupational therapy.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts
Includes publications in the areas of sociology, social work, and related social sciences.