Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.
Finding Electronic Journals
Religion Databases, Journals & Indexes
ATLA Religion Database
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage 1949-present.
ATLASerials, Religion Collection
A full-text collection of 360+ religion and theology journals selected by leading scholars in the field. Dates of coverage vary; some as far back as 1881. Search by keywords or browse journals by issue.
Major database which indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world published since 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,400 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
A selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel, the articles listed are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers. The database is updated daily. Includes 350,000+ records from 21,000+ different sources.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes 200+ of the most prominent periodicals covering Jewish culture, history, literature, religion and other areas of related study. A highly valuable resource for the study of Jewish affairs, most references within this database are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Coverage from 1988 to present.
Israel Union List of Serials
This catalog contains bibliographic records for more than 100,000 periodicals from over 170 academic libraries and special libraries, in all fields and languages. The catalog is managed by the National Library of Israel.
Old Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts features abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. Both the article and book abstracts are organized by themes, such as the Ancient Near East, literary forms, and biblical theology. Established in 1978, the journal provides summaries and bibliographical information of articles and books written in all major languages. Old Testament Abstracts is published by The Catholic Biblical Association of America.
An international Open Access, peer-reviewed academic journal encompassing all major disciplines of Theology and Religious Studies. Articles are from the field of Theology as well as Philosophy, Sociology and Psychology of Religion and also dialogue between Religion and Science.
Sociology of Religion Searchable Bibliographic Database
Included in the Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) research hub. Search citations by keywords or browse hundreds of terms.
Multidisciplinary & Subject Databases for Religion
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks, and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the web vpn (https://vpn.ucsd.edu) to get full access to UCSD article content.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2,600 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse of full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. UCSD is a member. Contains 650+ digital titles under keyword "religion". Many collections also available via ILL.
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text for hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world, much of which is not found in other databases. This online resource provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, full text for more than 890 journals, and contains more than 2.47 million records. Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and multi-disciplinary humanities titles, with world-wide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Access 100+ journals of religion, most in full-text.
L'Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography)
1928-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world: linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, more. Contains 65,000+ hits under keyword: religion.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
International index to journal articles published from 1972 to 2015, provides access to more than 20 million references in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
1952-present. The definitive sociology research database with renowned scope and breadth pf International coverage. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.