LibGuides: Religion: Home & Help

General Library Info

Library Hours
Hours may change during Week 10 and Finals week of each quarter.
My Library Account
Set up My Library Account to use all library services.
Ask a Librarian
UC San Diego librarians are available to help with your research needs. Chat 24/7 with a librarian now!
Course Reserves
Find what your instructor has put on Reserve.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan is a way to request books and articles that are not available at UC San Diego.

Remote Access and Library Support

This guide is designed to help you start your Library research. Please feel free to email me if you get stuck, have additional research questions, would like to set up an appointment, or have other sources to include in the guide.

Try UC Library Search, our new online catalog, article search, and ILL system in one!

More about UC San Diego Library services during the Covid-19 campus response.

Off-Campus Access to Journals, Ebooks, and Databases: Use AnyConnect VPN.

When logging in, select the 2 Step Secured - althruucsd option (click to see an example)
Duo two-step login also required

Key Resources

ATLA Religion Database
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage 1949-present.

Encyclopedia of Religion
A great resource to start your research on religious topics. About 3,300 scholarly entries give useful background and list relevant literature for more information.

JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology represents a new way of conceiving of the relationship between archaeology and biblical studies that allows the results of a wide cross-section of excavations and regional studies to contribute to the interpretation of the biblical text through an elucidation of the lifeways of the ancient world. The connection between archaeology and the Bible was forged by the discoveries of the nineteenth century, and archaeological finds became the primary catalyst for changes in biblical studies throughout the twentieth century.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Chinese Religions
Comprising the most up-to-date, interdisciplinary research on the study of Chinese religious beliefs and cultural practices, this volume explores the rich and complex religious and philosophical traditions that have developed and flourished in one of the world's oldest civilizations. Covers the main Chinese traditions of Confucianism, Taoism, and Buddhism as well as Christianity and Islam.

Subject Guide

Michael Smith (UCSD)

Email Me

Contact:

9500 Gilman Drive #0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

858-534-1248

Subjects: GIS, Government Information, Maps, Philosophy, Religion