Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Survey of voting behavior in the United States, conducted biennially since 1948. Basic questions on religious identification and attendance at religious services have been asked throughout the time series but the religion module was substantially widened and improved starting in 1990, making possible richer analyses of how religion affects political attitudes and behavior. Contains links to download all the data.
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) holds over 200 surveys on religion, including general population surveys, surveys of selected religious groups, surveys of religious professionals, and aggregate church, congregational and denominational data.
The Berman Jewish DataBank
This is a repository for demographic and other quantitative social scientific surveys about Jews in the United States, Canada, and the world. It archives the National Jewish Population Surveys as well as a number of community surveys, and includes American Jewish Yearbook back to 1899.
The General Social Survey
Very large survey file in SPSS and STATA formats with data on religious preference and specific denominations, attendance for religious services, belief in afterlife and spirituality. Surveys cover 1972-2018 and are continuously updated. An open source website via the University of Chicago.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Search for religion data at the ICPSR Data Archive, the world's largest archive of social science data. election data, opinion polls, and more. To download data, create a personal account using your ucsd.edu email address while accessing the database from a UC San Diego computer, UCSD-PROTECTED wireless, or the VPN.
National Congregations Study 1998 and 2006 @ ICPSR
A nationally representative study of congregations carried out via interviews with congregational informants, mostly clergy. Conducted in conjunction with the 1998 General Social Survey (GSS). Respondents reported on a wide variety of congregational activities. A sample size of 1236.
National Studies of Youth and Religion
The National Survey of Youth and Religion (NSYR) is a nationally representative telephone survey of English and Spanish-speaking teenagers between the ages of 13 and 17 (in 2003), and their parents.
National Survey of Black Americans @ ICPSR
National Survey of Black Americans 1979-1980, 1987-1988, 1988-1989, 1992 (ICPSR)
The survey investigates neighborhood-community integration, services, crime and community contact, the role of religion and the church, physical and mental health, self-esteem, life satisfaction, employment, the effects of chronic unemployment, the effects of race on the job, interaction with family and friends, racial attitudes, race identity, group stereotypes, and race ideology.
World Values Survey
The series is designed to enable a crossnational comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. This longitudinal survey currently covers the years 1981-2014 in seven waves.