Education Statistics: Education Databases

Access to Library Resources

Licensed e-resources are available to UCSD affiliates. Connect to the VPN or Protected Wi-Fi network to access these resources.

The Get it at UC link will provide options for accessing the full text of an article from within UC Library Search, databases, and even Google Scholar if using the Library Links setting. If there are no online access links or the print is unavailable from the Library, you must request the item from within UC Library Search.

Sources

UC Library Search [UC library catalog]

Use UC Library Search to locate books, e-books, articles, online journals, media, and more across the collections from the University of California's libraries.

Education Studies [UCSD affiliation/login required]

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
From the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to education-related literature published from 1966-present.
Education Source
Provides access to education-related literature, including educational tests from 1929-present.
Higher education abstracts
Provides access to literature in topics related to higher education, including conference papers and research reports issued by professional organizations from 1965-present.
Educational research abstracts online (ERA)
Covers international research in education from 1995-present.

Related Subject Areas [UCSD affiliation/login required]

Also see the Subject A-Z Guide list for article database recommendations by subject area.

PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences from 1597-present.
Sociological Abstracts
Includes publications in the areas of sociology, social work, and related social sciences from 1963-present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
Includes publications in linguistics. A great resource for literature about language development.

Interdisciplinary [UCSD affiliation/login required]

Use these databases to search for articles published in journals across all disciplines: social sciences, sciences, arts and humanities, etc.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary databases with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more from 1887-present.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database with journal in all subject areas from 1900-present. Especially useful to find articles that have cited another article (e.g. to find current literature).

Dissertations & Theses [UCSD affiliation/login required]

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
Includes dissertations and theses from 1861-present. Provides a 24-page preview when available. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.

Free Databases [No login required]

ERIC via Institute of Education Sciences [Free]
This ERIC database has the same content as the one available through ProQuest, but is it is freely available and does not require a UCSD login. ERIC is a comprehensive, full-text database of education research and information sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.