Anthropology: Access to eBooks

There are many resources to use to find books at UCSD, as well as in the broader San Diego, California, and Global Community.  UC Library Search (displayed and accessed at the center of the UC Library Homepage) allows users to search the local UCSD and UC wide catalogs.  UC Library Search also incorporates records from many databases (so you can search for articles at the same time that you search for books, microform, government documents, and more) and it also includes faceting, which helps you to narrow down the results of your search by format, subject, or other criteria.  In addition, it is possible to expand a UC Library Search to include global results via WorldCat.  See also the Keyword Search Strategies and Tools Box by Scrolling Down on the Tips for Effective Online Searching tab of this guide.

PLEASE CONSULT THE ATTACHED GOOGLE DOCUMENT FOR DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS ON USING UC LIBRARY SEARCH.

UC Library Search 

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

Search Tips 

• Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN.
• Capitalize the operators AND, OR, NOT when combining key search terms.
• To request items that the Library doesn't have click the Request button.
• Click Digitalization to request scans of print book chapters or print articles.

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. 

You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon. 

A-Z Databases

Please see the Guide to eBooks for important information on 

• searching for and accessing UCSD ebooks in general
• major ebook collections that UCSD subscribes to
• the differences between (and advantages and disadvantages presented by) different platforms
• citing ebooks

See the Dissertations & Theses Box At the Bottom of This Page (i.e. Below)

• See the UCSD Open Access Research Guide
• Openedition.org: https://www.openedition.org/ (which provides access to nearly 10,000 ebooks and 535 journals mostly in French but also in Spanish, Italian, German and English)
• Digitalia: http://www.digitaliapublishing.com/ebooks (a major provider of Spanish language ebooks which is currently providing free loans to their entire collection.  UCSD owns a number of these, but if you find something particularly useful, please let me know so I can purchase for the permanent collection if we don’t have it already).
• Redshelf (the platform UCSD Bookstore uses): https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/
• Vitalsource: https://get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps