Skip to main content

Linguistics: Essential Library Orientation

Things to Do First

New to UCSD? Complete the tasks below.

Bookmark the Library website
http://library.ucsd.edu
Set up off-campus access (VPN)
http://lib.ucsd.edu/remote-access
Connect Google Scholar to the Library's full text, licensed content

(NOTE: Use the VPN to access the full text )

Create a PIN in Roger
http://lib.ucsd.edu/library-account
Download the Browzine app to keep up with the current research in your field

http://ucsd.libguides.com/browzine

Create an account for a citation management software.

(Use to manage, store, and organize citations you find.)

Course Reserves


Your professor may put a particular text or article on reserve for your class. You can find them through the Library using the Course Reserves link.

 

To access course reserves you will need your AD username and password. This is the same username and password you use to sign into your UCSD email or TritonEd. Once you are logged into the system you can search via instructor or course. Reserve items can be picked up at the front desk of Geisel Library.

Catalog vs. Database

Library Catalog (Roger) vs. Databases

The library owns over 4,000,000 print and e-books and 700 databases where you can find articles. However, you can't find both of these items in the same place. Some libraries have one single search box for both, but the UC San Diego Library does not.

 

Catalog vs Database - What can you find in each?

  • Catalog: books, e-books, DVDs, special collections
  • Database: journal articles

 

Note: Databases only include the articles from journals that particular database has decided to collect. That's why it is important not to rely on just one database for your research. It might not include an important collection of articles you should be using.

 

Note: Some databases offer the full text of an article while others only provide the citations to let you know it exists.  You will have to check another database for the full text of an article citation. Check out the "Accessing full text" box on this page for information on how to do that.

Finding Books & eBooks

 

How to only search for ebooks

 

How to Find Articles

Access Full Text Articles


 

 If you don't see either of these icons in a library database:

Use this icon:

It will automatically search for the full text of an article.

It may open up the article automatically, or you will get a menu of options to get the article (either a full page or a side menu):

- Choose any of the links to get the article online, if available
- See if the article is available in print (links out to the library catalog)
- Request via interlibrary loan if we don't have it.

1. Go to the Google Scholar homepage and click in the top left corner of the screen.

2. Choose Settings or the in the top right of the menu.

3. Select Library Links from the left-side menu.

4. Search for University of California, San Diego.

5. Mark check box next to this option and Save.

 

When you search for articles, you will now see an extra column with additional links on the right.  Where you see UC-eLinks, you may click it to view the UC-eLinks menu from which you can get the full text through the library databases. From this menu, choose whichever online option is available.

 

(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password)

Ask A Librarian

 

Ask a Librarian Reference Service icon

 

 

Get help when you need it. 

 

Ask by Chat

Ask by chat is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!

A librarian from another academic library may answer your question, but UC San Diego librarians will follow up with additional information if needed.

Consultations

Schedule a consultation with a subject librarian to focus on your research needs.

 

Drop by for Research Help at the Research Assistance Desk in the Geisel Library building, (858) 822-0450

Ask by Email

Send an email and get a response within 24 hours.

Ask by Text

Monday - Friday, 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.  Texts received outside these hours (including weekends & holidays) will be answered the following business day.

Text "askucsd" followed by your question to 66746.

For example:

To: 66746
askucsd how late r u open

Save 66746 in your contacts as AskUCSD for easy access!

Message and data rates may apply.

Ask by Phone

Call us when you need research help! Hours we're available.

 
Service Desk Phone Number
Information Desk (858) 534-0133
Research Assistance Desk (858) 822-0450

 

Feedback

Is this page useful?
Absolutely!: 0 votes (0%)
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
Sort of: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Absolutely not!: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0