LibGuides: MMW 121: Exploring the Pre-Modern World: Finding Sources: Articles & Databases

Start with UC Library Search

UC Library Search
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets, and primary resources, archives, and special collections.

UC Library Search Tips:

Use caps for AND OR NOT to combine search terms.
Use quotes to keep two or more words together as a phrase.
The Resource Type filters will limit to a specific type of source.
You must sign in to use the Request function.

Looking for More?

Subject Guides (find subject-specific databases)
Databases A-Z (databases by name)

For in-depth searches, try databases. Use databases to search for articles, books, newspapers, and more on a particular topic. Choose broad subject areas (e.g., history, art, political science) and interdisciplinary databases, or ones that search across multiple disciplines. The Library has access to hundreds of databases -- organized by broad subject areas.

You must also be logged into the VPN if working from off-campus to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon.

Article Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
1975-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1100 leading arts and humanities journals. In many cases includes searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. Part of the Web of Science.
ARTstor
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture
Electronic Enlightenment
Searchable and browsable database with access to correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 17th-19th centuries, and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With 79,254 letters and documents and 10,232 correspondents (as of Winter 2018–2019) EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Humanities Full-Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
Literature Online (LiON)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose; 180 full-text literature journals; and other key critical and biographical sources.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
Education Source
1929-present. Includes more than 2,850 academic periodicals, full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Provides full-text access to over 20 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Coverage for some titles dates from 1976. Updated monthly
Educational research abstracts online (ERA)
1995- Covers current international research in education. Includes the following abstracting journals: Educational management abstracts, Educational technology abstracts, Multicultural education abstracts, Research into higher education abstracts, Sociology of education abstracts, Special educational needs abstracts, and Vocational education and training abstracts (formerly, Technical education & training abstracts).
Higher education abstracts
1965-present. Covers journal articles pertaining to college students, faculty, administrators, and related topics in higher education. Includes more than 200 journals in the fields of education, computer sciences, management, psychology, sociology, and law; papers read at meetings of major education and social sciences conferences; books published by all major higher education publishers; and research reports issued by professional organizations, government agencies, and foundations. Coverage includes materials from the United States and Canada and from foreign publications printed in English.

America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
1975-present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Links to full text and web resources on the internet, from the Greco-Roman period to the Bomb and NASA.

Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

The Map as History
Provides a series of over 230 animated maps, often focusing on a single region to illustrate developments over time. Also provides timelines to further clarify and contextualize historical progress. Covers many regions - from the Americas, to India, to Europe, Africa, and the Middle East.

Electronic Enlightenment
Searchable and browsable database with access to correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 17th-19th centuries, and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With 79,254 letters and documents and 10,232 correspondents (as of Winter 2018–2019) EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Philosopher's Index
The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Left Index
Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

Military Balance (Institute for Strategic Studies)
Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.

PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
PsycARTICLES
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. See EBSCO's database field list for more details.

ATLA Religion Database
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage 1949-present.
Index Islamicus
Major database which indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world published since 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,400 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Religion
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in Religion. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.
Religion and the Law
A research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection also includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles. Contains hundreds of unique titles including books, periodicals, and bibliographies.
Sociology of Religion Searchable Bibliographic Database
Included in the Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) research hub. Search citations by keywords or browse hundreds of terms.

Anthropology Plus
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Bibliography of Asian Studies
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with full-text provided for most articles published from 1994+.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs; full text for over 16,800 conference papers; and informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
The ASFA database is a premier source for aquatic resources, covering over 7,000 journals, books, reports, & conference proceedings mainly from 1971 - to present, with some coverage back to the 1800s. This database is ideal for research in the areas of aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation, fisheries, marine biotechnology, oceanography, policy & legislation, and wildlife management.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/asfa
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. This is the preferred database to use over BIOSIS Previews because you can search for cited references.
CINAHL
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
Defense Technical Information Center's (DTIC) Public Collections
Search and access all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents in the Defense Technical Information Center's Public Technical Reports Collection and DTIC's Full-Text Collection of Department of Defense research reports.
Food Studies Online
A database offering the most relevant and valuable materials in the area of food studies. It includes works about how food shapes and defines people's lives through the eyes of philosophers, historians, scientists, sociologists, artists, anthropologists, activists, physicists, psychologists, chefs, and many other important researchers.
Inspec
Indexes 16+ million journal articles and conference papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science. Also good for related disciplines like geophysics, astronomy, mechanical engineering, biomedical engineering, ocean engineering, and acoustics. Indexes IEEE conference papers and standards. ****You can now cross search with Compendex for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate results can be removed.
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
PTSDpubs Database
An electronic index to the worldwide literature on post traumatic stress disorder and other mental health sequelae of exposure to traumatic events.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.

Course Reserves

Reserves

Reserves are items your instructor has made available for you to use in your course. Access to course reserves can be found in Canvas or the Library's website.