LibGuides: Celebrating the Freedom to Read: Censorship and Intellectual Freedom

Books at the UC San Diego Library

Visit the UC San Diego Library to check out these books:

Intellectual Freedom Manual by ALA's Office for Intellectual Freedom
Call Number: Z711.4 .I57 2010, Geisel Fl. 8
ISBN: 9780838935903
Publication Date: 2010
This manual provides interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights and guidelines and policies to ensure intellectual freedom.
Haunted by Words by Alyson Miller
ISBN: 9783034313957
Publication Date: 2013
This text examines the reasons behind contemporary objections to literary works.
All Good Books Are Catholic Books by Una M. Cadegan
ISBN: 9780801468988
Publication Date: 2013
This ebook discusses the Catholic Church's negotiation with modern culture, including the discontinuance of the Index of Prohibited Books.
Obscenity: Legal Control by American Law Division
Publication Date: 1978
This text lists and summarizes the government's involvement in censorship in the 1970s, including court cases, hearings, and legislation.
Seal of Approval: The History of the ComicsCode by Amy Kiste Nyberg
ISBN: 9780878059751
Publication Date: 1998
Available from the Underground and Independent Comics database, this book examines the censorship of comic books.

Learn about Intellectual Freedom and Censorship

Here are selected links from organizations such as the American Library Association (ALA) and the United Nations which have a strong interest in endorsing intellectual freedom and opposing censorship.

Grapes of Wrath & the Politics of Book Burning
This brief NPR story from 2011 describes a famous incident of U.S. book censorship. Includes interview with the author of Obscene in the Extreme.
UC San Diego's General University Policy Regarding Academic Apointees
UC San Diego's policies on academic freedom.
ALA Intellectual Freedom and Censorship Q&A
This page provides information for basic knowledge of intellectual freedom and censorship, such as what is it and reasons for censorship.
Joint Statement on Censorship and Science: A Threat to Science, the Constitution, and Democracy
A statement endorsed by groups including the American Association of University Professors, American Civil Liberties Union, and American Library Association discusses the risks and impact of government interference with intellectual freedom within the science community.
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Under Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights issued by the United Nations General Assembly, intellectual freedom is identified as a human right.
Pursuing Academic Freedom After Garcetti v. Ceballos.
This article looks at the effect of certain court cases on academic freedom. Access to Academic Search Complete is required.
Too Graphic?: 2014 BBW Celebrates Challenged Comics
Story from 09/24/14 discusses attempts by critics to challenge access to graphic novels in libraries.

Censorship, Intellectual Freedom, and Libraries

Supporting Intellectual Freedom: Symbolic Capital and Practical Philosophy in Librarianship
Libraries and Intellectual Freedom
Articles on intellectual freedom, how it relates to the library and how individuals can support their library in this matter. This project of the American Library Association also includes background on recent and past banned books efforts and how to get involved to fight censorship.
A Utilitarian Case for Intellectual Freedom in Libraries
This article examines the utilitarian and deontological viewpoints of intellectual freedom and censorship in the library. Access to JSTOR is required.

Want More Banned Books?

The following books are bibliographies, providing lists of banned books.

Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds by Nicholas J. Karolides
Call Number: Proquest e-book
ISBN: 0816062706
Publication Date: 2006
Part of a four book series, this volume provides a list of books that have been banned for political reasons and includes publishing information, summaries of the entries and information on the entry's censorship.
Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds by Margaret Bald
Call Number: Proquest e-book
ISBN: 9780816071487
Publication Date: 2006
Part of a four book series, this volume provides a list of books that have been banned for religious reasons and includes publishing information, summaries of the entries, and information about the entries' censorship.
Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds by Dawn B. Sova
Call Number: Proquest e-book
ISBN: 9780816062720
Publication Date: 2006
Part of a four book series, this volume provides a list of books that have been banned on sexual grounds and includes publishing information, summaries of the entries and information on the entry's censorship.
Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds by Dawn B. Sova
Call Number: Proquest e-book
ISBN: 9780816062713
Publication Date: 2006
Part of a four book series, this volume provides a list of books that have been banned for social reasons and includes publishing information, summaries of the entries and information on the entry's censorship.
Index Librorum Prohibitorum Ss Domini Nostri Gregorii XVI Pontificis Maximi Jussu Editus Romae MDCCCXLI
Call Number: Z1020 .I866, Special Collections
ISBN: 9781148529523
Publication Date: 1866
This is a list of books banned by the Catholic Church issued by the Church. This source is available for library-use only from UCSD. Electronic version available at http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001167039