Maps: Historical Maps

Digital map collection contains over 14,000 maps from all over the US and the globe

Covering a wide range of subjects from presidential elections to agriculture the historical atlas is equipped with a table of contents for easy navigation and interactive maps

The Automobile Club of Southern California Collection provides documentation on the region's transportation history, a selection of 98 historic strip maps, illustrating the development of major Southern California routes

Telling a Story of California Through Highway and Planning Maps

Office of Coast Survey covers the land and waters of the United States including territories and posessions free to download

A range of maps covering the state of California and specific cities

The historic map collection dates from the 17th century to the present, including significant collections concerning the exploration of the American West, the American Southwest, Nevada, and Southern Nevada

A comprehensive collection of maps spanning the globe and by topic. Subsciption based this database requires user to be on the UCSD network or use VPN limited to student's, staff or faculty

Military history atlases with over a thousand maps encompassing wars of the United States and abroad

World Historical Gazetteer indexes place data drawn from historical sources, contributed by research projects and individuals studying the past from many disciplinary perspectives.

California was depicted as an Island on maps in the 17th and 18th centuries. It was not until Father Eusebio Kino’s map entitled “A Passage by Land to California,” informed by his travels between 1698 and 1701, that this cartographic blunder was exposed

More than 6,500 maps from over 350 historical atlases spanning 1579 through 1964. Maps have a limited free view.

Antique maps digitized and available for free use spanning the Americas

A digitized collection of the Pacific Northwest provided with a foreward offering a new cultural perspective

83 manuscript maps and related material detailing the route of the Lewis and Clark Expedition to the Pacific Coast and back, 1804-1806. Many were annotated during the expedition

Maps of the Pimería a province or region--never precisely defined--of Spanish colonial Mexico encompassing what is now southern Arizona and northern Sonora, the name being derived from the Pima Indians who live in the region

OpenHistoricalMap is a project designed to store and display map data throughout the history of the world.

Smith Center for Cartographic education comprising of sheet maps, atlases, globes and surveying instruments

24 historic topographic maps of the San Diego area dating back to 1900

A digital repository of USGS maps printed between 1884 and 2006 containing more than 178,000 maps