Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources in Jewish Studies
This page is your starting point for finding databases, websites and other digital collections for Jewish Studies. You'll find key sites especially useful for research or rewarding to browse: core databases for finding articles, reference tools, streaming video, much more.
Use the tabs at the top of the page to browse many more resources.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (Second Edition, 2007)
Covers every aspect of Jewish history, culture and society around the world. First new edition in 35 years. Print edition also available in the Geisel Floor 5 collection as DS102.8 .E496 2007
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
1949-present. Indexes journal articles, books and collected essays on all aspects of religious studies, from ancient history to the present, including social aspects of religious phenomena.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1988-present. A guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1978-present. Abstracts, all written in English, cover works in many different languages: articles from more than 450 journals, plus monographs, multi-author books, and festschriften
Visual History Archive (VHA) of Holocaust Survivor Testimony
Digital collection of 52,000 video testimonies from Holocaust survivors. From the USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History & Education. Can search remotely but videos viewed only on campus. Free individual registration required. Works best with Internet Explorer
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History Key site [UCSD Only]
Covers the Jewish experience in the United States from the 17th century to the 21st. This is the E-book version of a two volume encyclopedia published in 2007.[Full Description]
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Contains full-color, full-text searchable digitized primary source materials on the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to today. Includes access to the entirety of six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Themes covered include: Business, industry and enterprise; Civil rights and liberties; Culture, literature and the arts; Early Jewish experience; Everyday life: personal and family narratives; Immigration and settlement; Politics and the law; Reflections on the Jewish experience; Religion, tradition and community; War, conflict and persecution; and Welfare, health and education
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
Covers Jewish history, religion and culture in Muslim lands, covering the seventh century to the present (2010), particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. Will be updated annually
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
History and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Includes content of print edition, plus images, media, documents and links to related sites. From the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
Berman Jewish Policy Archive
A digital library of research and scholarship relating to Jewish communities in North America and around the world. From New York University's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
The Berman Jewish DataBank
This is a repository for demographic and other quantitative social scientific surveys about Jews in the United States, Canada, and the world. It archives the National Jewish Population Surveys as well as a number of community surveys, and includes American Jewish Yearbook back to 1899.
Jewish Studies: UC Press eScholarship Editions
Full text of books from the University of California's Press eScholarship Editions. Most titles are also available in print at the UCSD Libraries
Jewish Women's Archive
Includes a Virtual Archive, an encyclopedia, curricula and other educational materials, a variety of online exhibits, oral history guides, a blog, a growing collection of reminiscences of recently deceased Jewish women.
Recorded Sound Archives: Judaic Collection
Thousands of recordings: folk, cantorial, comedy, theater, Chassidic, klezmer, Israeli, Sephardic and songs for children, plus recordings of Jewish music and humor in any language. You can listen but not download. Maintained by Florida Atlantic University
Virtual Cinema from the Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
Streaming video of more than 100 films from the early 20th century through the 1960s: collections include Jewish communities, Holocaust, pre-state Zionist era and post-1948 State of Israel. Windows and Internet Explorer 6.0 required for viewing.
Jewish Telegraphic Agency Archive
1923-2008. International, daily wire service for covering news about the Jewish people since the early 20th Century.
Center for Jewish History
A partnership of five major institutions of Jewish scholarship, history, and art: the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, the Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
Selected Journals in Jewish Studies