Skip to main content
Finding Articles--Specific Subjects
These concentrate on specific disciplines and fields of study, including some specifically focused on Judaic Studies, but also broader ones such as Religion and History which may be useful for you research. For those subject areas, they may include a larger number of publications than more general databases.
ATLA Religion Database
1949-present. Indexes journal articles, books and collected essays on all aspects of religious studies, from ancient history to the present, including social aspects of religious phenomena. Also useful for archaeology of the Levant.
ATLASerials, Religion Collection
Online collection of nearly 100 major religion and theology journals selected by leading scholars in the field. Dates of coverage vary; some as far back as 1924. Search by key words or browse journals by issue.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
1988-present. A guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs
Old Testament Abstracts
1978-present. Abstracts, all written in English, cover works in many different languages: articles from more than 450 journals, plus monographs, multi-author books, and festschriften
Review of biblical literature
1996-present. Reviews of monographic literature in the field of biblical and related studies as well as reference works, commentaries, dictionaries, and biblical translations.
International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. For U.S. history use America: History and Life
America: History and Life
International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
For the rest of the world use Historical Abstracts
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
1990-present. Bibliography of journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance, covering the period 400-1700
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes Jewish-American, as well as African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, and more. Can limit results to one group.
Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism
Databases of article, books and dissertations on antisemitism. Annotations are included after 1984. From the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Israel Union List of Serials
1966-present. Lists articles in Jewish studies and the study of Israel compiled from thousands of periodicals and article collections: Hebrew, Yiddish, European languages. Several thousand fulltext articles included.
Finding Articles -- General and Multidiscipline
Combine journals from all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts; also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Always the best starting point, indexes and abstracts articles in every field from more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Not only social sciences and humanites, but also science, technology, business and popular magazines. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Web of Science
1900-present. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.
Periodicals Archive Online
1665-2006. Full text of 3 million articles from 796 North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. 20 percent non-English. Also try the much larger Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks or Google may ask you to pay for resources UCSD has already purchased.