LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias are much more than a way of picking up quick facts. Typically put together by scholars and other experts in the field, they can provide an overview of a field or fill in topics for unfamiliar areas of research. The articles usually also include a list of important books and articles. Not a substitute for research but a quick way of getting you started.

A few of the encyclopedias with broadest coverage are at the top of the list, but all are worth browsing. Many of these encyclopedias we also have in print.

Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Entries on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern. An updated and abridged version of the 1995 volume "The Jewish Religion: A Companion" from Oxford University Press[
Historical Dictionary of the Jews
History of the Jewish people and their religious culture: chronology, introductory essay, extensive bibliography,and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, places, events, institutions, and aspects of culture,society, economy, politics
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Covers more than 3000 years of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies
Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies
Essays on all aspects of Jewish Studies. Based on the 2002 print edition, which is also available in the Library
Jewish Encyclopedia
Complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published between 1901-1906. Includes over 15,000 articles and illustrations. Articles have not been updated or edited for nearly 100 years but still used as a reference source
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History
Covers the Jewish experience in the United States from the 17th century to the 21st. This is the E-book version of a two volume encyclopedia published in 2007.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
Covers Jewish history, religion and culture in Muslim lands, covering the seventh century to the present (2010), particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. Will be updated annually
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
History and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Includes content of print edition, plus images, media, documents and links to related sites. From the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
__________________________________
Antisemitism: A Historical encyclopedia of prejudice and persecution
More than 600 articles on all aspects of Antisemitism, each with a short bibliography. Online version of a 2-volume work published in 2005.
Dictionary of the Bible
A concise subject encyclopedia, with over 2000 brief entries about the books of the Bible, customs, religions and worship, history, and theology, important places, and personalities
Oxford Companion to the Bible
Articles on people, places, events, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the bible, ranging from brief identifications to interpretive essays
Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies
From Hebrew Bible to New Testament, essays on the discipline, language, historical studies, composition, methods and interpretation. From the 2006 print edition.
Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible
Articles people and places that appear in the Hebrew Bible and New Testament. From prophets, apostles, and groups to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
450 articles on the history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. The works are viewed in historical, linguistic, and religious contexts, as supported by the archaeological evidence.
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust
Names, places, acronyms, events and concepts that made up the world of the Holocaust. Also includes a detailed chronology, 40-page bibliography and a 29-page introduction to the Holocaust. One user at a time: try again if busy[
Holocaust Encyclopedia
A project of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., contains nearly 300 brief articles with links to images, documents, bibliographies and other resources. Also available in French and Spanish.
Jewish Women: A comprehensive historical encyclopedia
Articles on the accomplishments of Jewish women worldwide and in all periods of history. 1700 biographical entries, 300 thematic entries and over 1200 photographs. Includes bibliographies and images
Blackwell Companion to Judaism
Print book only, in Geisel Library (5th floor, BM42 .B54 2000).
Oxford Handbook of Jewish Daily Life in Roman Palestine
Print book also available, in Geisel Library (5th Floor, DS112 .O84 2010).
Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls