LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Holocaust

Testimonies

Visual History Archive of the USC Shoah Foundation
Digital collection of over 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. About 1,600 testimonies are viewable online, but the full collection can be viewed only on campus or using VPN with 2-Step Secured - allthruucsd. Free individual registration required.
Published Survivors' Memoirs
A list of Holocaust survivors' memoirs in the Geisel LIbrary who have been also interviewed by the USC Shoah Foundation.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
Over 4,400 video interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. The collection belongs to Yale's department of Manuscripts and Archives. Selections from testimonies can be viewed online.
Testaments to the Holocaust
Written eyewitness accounts collected before, during and after World War II. They were collected by the archives of Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust. 75% of the documents in German.
Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust
Over 300 audio interviews of Holocaust survivors and their children living in Britain collected in 1988-2000.
Voices of the Holocaust
130 audio interviews conducted by Dr. David Border in 1946 in Europe that are the earliest audio recordings of Holocaust survivors.

Encyclopedias+

Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust
Names, places, acronyms, events and concepts that made up the world of the Holocaust. Also includes a detailed chronology, a bibliography and an introduction. One user at a time.
Holocaust Encyclopedia
A project of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum contains nearly 300 brief articles with links to images, documents, bibliographies and other resources.
Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies
A comprehensive guide to current research in Holocaust Studies.
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
History and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945
The 7-volume encyclopedia describes about 20,000 camps and ghettos that the Nazis and their allies operated from Norway to North Africa and from France to Russia.
Not available online. Print copy in the Geisel Reference Collection. For library use only.
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust
The two-volume encyclopedia offers descriptions of more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. It is supplemented by a special DVD of wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.
Not available online. Print copy in the Geisel Reference Collection. For library use only.

Web Portals

Nizkor Project
A collection of projects focused on the Holocaust and its denial, including documents on the camps and war crimes trials, organizations, people and places,and research guides.
Yizkor Book Project
Translations from Yiddish of more than 580 Yizkor books, written as memorials to Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust, and including descriptions and histories, biographies of prominent people, lists of people who perished, etc.
Virtual Cinema from the Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
Streaming video of more than 100 films from the early 20th century through the 1960s: collections include Jewish communities, Holocaust, pre-state Zionist era and post-1948 State of Israel.
Virtual Shtetl
A portal to resources on the Jewish history of Poland: small towns and big cities, past and present. Collection of reference text, recollections and images, plus a forum for sharing information

Museums and Archives

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
The national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, through exhibitions, research and publication, collection of art and artifacts, annual Holocaust commemorations, and distribution of educational materials.
Yad Vashem
The world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust. It includes a museum, library and archives. The online Holocaust resource center provides access to primary and secondary sources organized by topics.
Simon Wiesenthal Center
An international Jewish human rights organization dedicated to preserving the memory of the Holocaust by fostering tolerance and understanding. Site includes the Museum of Tolerance in Los Angeles.
Association of Holocaust Organizations: Membership Directory
Directory of organizations active in the advancement of Holocaust programming, awareness, education and research.
Research Archives
A list of research archives with an emphasis on the Holocaust annually published by the journal Holocaust and Genocide Studies.

Events at UCSD

Holocaust Living History Workshop
Established in 2008 as a collaborative project of the UC San Diego Jewish Studies Program and the Library, the HLHW aims to preserve the memory of the victims and survivors of the Holocaust. Starting in January 2010, the HLHW has been hosting meetings and presentations that connect local survivors, their families, researchers, UCSD students, and San Diego communities.
UC San Diego Library Digital Collections
Video recordings of some individual events organized by Holocaust Living History Workshop.

Journal Articles and Books

There are several scholarly journals devoted to research on the Holocaust and Genocide. Many helpful resources may be also found through databases specialized in Jewish studies and history and in general and multidisciplinary databases.

The main area for books on the Holocaust is on the fifth floor of Geisel Library, in the area with call numbers beginning with D803-D805. For books on antisemitism, look into the area with call numbers beginning with DS145.

Holocaust and Genocide Studies
1986-present. A scholarly journal published on behalf of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Holocaust Studies: A Journal of Culture and History
1997-present. Formerly known as Journal of Holocaust education.
Yad Vashem Studies
1990-present. A scholarly journal on the Holocaust published by Yad Vashem. Not available online. Print copy in the Geisel Journal Collection.

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes 200+ of the most prominent periodicals covering Jewish culture, history, literature, religion and other areas of related study. A highly valuable resource for the study of Jewish affairs, most references within this database are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Coverage from 1988 to present.