LibGuides: ECON Summer Bridge: Books

Featured Books

Everybody Writes: your new and improved go-to guide to creating ridiculously good content, 2nd ed. by Ann. Handley
Call Number: Wiley e-book

ISBN: 1119854318

Publication Date: 2022

A hands-on field guide to consistently creating page-turning content that your audience loves. In the newly revised and updated edition of Everybody Writes, marketer and author Ann Handley improves on her Wall Street Journal bestselling book that's helped hundreds of thousands become better, more confident writers.
Trend following: how to make a fortune in bull, bear and black swan markets by Michael W. Covel; Barry Ritholtz (Foreword by)
Call Number: Wiley e-book

ISBN: 9781119371878

Publication Date: 2017

Want to take the financial journey to a new investing philosophy that might very well affect the rest of your moneymaking life? Covel takes you inside the core principles of trend following and shows everyone, from brand new trader to professional, how alpha gets pulled from the market.
Start with Why by Simon Sinek
Call Number: HD57.7 .S549, Geisel 6th fl.

ISBN: 9781591842804

Publication Date: 2011

Based on START WITH WHY, the third most popular TED video of all time, author Sinek starts with a fundamental question: Why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others? He contends that people like Martin Luther King Jr., Steve Jobs, and the Wright Brothers had little in common, but they all started with WHY. Drawing on a wide range of real-life stories, Sinek weaves together a clear vision of what it truly takes to lead and inspire.
The Innovator's Path by Madge M. Meyer
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9781118537329

Publication Date: 2013
Mode 3 Knowledge Production in Quadruple Helix Innovation Systems by Elias G. Carayannis; David F. J. Campbell These authors 'focus on the “Quadruple Helix” model, through which government, academia, industry, and civil society are seen as key actors promoting a democratic approach to innovation through which strategy, development and decision-making are exposed to feedback from key stakeholders, resulting in socially accountable policies and practices.'
ISBN: 9781461420613

Publication Date: 2011
Brilliant, Crazy, Cocky: how the top 1% of entrepreneurs profit from global chaos by Sarah Lacy "To tell this story, Lacy spends six weeks in six different cities around the world -- London, England; Tel Aviv, Israel; Kigali, Rwanda; Mumbai, India; Beijing, China and Guadalajara, Mexico -- that are standing on the brink of economic and political opportunity and volatility. The individuals that she follows are distinct products of their own cultures, yet they share that same unmistakable cocktail of delusion, ambition, and brilliance that's driven Bill Gates, Fred Smith, Donald Trump, and every other iconic American entrepreneur of the last few decades."
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780470580097

Publication Date: 2011

Collections of ebooks related to business

We have lots of e-books. You can search in one place by your favorite topic:

Use UC Library Search, when you want to find individual items or topics across all e-book content
Or, you can browse the quick list below to target directly the highest concentrations of business-related e-books.

Making of the Modern World
Provides primary source documents on topics of banking, economics, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials.

more... less...

It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration--along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
NBER Books (National Bureau of Economic Research)
The NBER is a private, nonprofit and nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Its research is intended for economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. This site also links to e-book pages that highlight its recent books and its books by series.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Includes more than 45K books from O'Reilly and 200+ publishers, covering programming languages, cloud computing, software architecture, security, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and other IT topics, as well as business, data science and management, mathematics, science and engineering, and professional development/soft skills. OHE also has more than 10,000 videos and audiobooks, plus courses and curated playlists prepared by experts in their fields, and you can create your own shareable playlists.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education does not use VPN. Select UC San Diego from the list of institutions, and then login using Single Sign On (access limited to UC San Diego faculty, students, and staff.

Springer Electronic Books in Business & Management
This Springer site includes over 28,000 books from every scientific discipline, plus business and other social science areas. The items are published in English and German from 2005-2010 plus selected older series back to volume 1.
Taylor & Francis Collection
Includes the CRC Press and other e-book collections are primarily based in the sciences, and are great for getting up to speed quickly on a technology. Note: Not all CRC titles are licensed by UCSD.
Wiley
1,300+ e-books on all major disciplines. There is strong coverage in the humanities, the social and behavioral sciences, business and law. The UC's purchased all 2011-2016 e-books, plus selected titles from 2010 and earlier.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository, from which anyone can freely access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.

Books about San Diego Business History

Mining the Borderlands by Sarah E. M. Grossman
Call Number: PQ ebook

ISBN: 9781943859832

Publication Date: 2018

At the dawn of the twentieth century, the US-Mexico border was home to some of the largest and most technologically advanced industrial copper mines. This despite being geographically, culturally, and financially far-removed from traditional urban centers of power.... By integrating the history of technical expertise into the history of the transnational mining industry, this in-depth look at borderlands mining explains how American economic hegemony was established in a border region peripheral to the federal governments of both Washington, D.C. and Mexico City.

Images of America: A History of American Life in Images
Features images and texts assembled by local community experts that attempts to portray everyday people, places and events in American local history. Drawn from the award-winning print series by Arcadia Publishing.

Aviation in San Diego by Katrina Pescador; Alan Renga; San Diego Air and Space Museum
Call Number: Alexander Street Press ebook

ISBN: 9780738547596

Publication Date: 2007

For nearly a century, San Diego has been a hub of aviation development, air power, and flying adventure.... From Ryan to Consolidated, Curtiss to Lindbergh, and everything in between, Aviation in San Diego is the preeminent photographic record of flight in "America's Finest City."
San Diego's Fishing Industry by Kimber M. Quinney; Italian Historical Society of San Diego; Thomas J. Cesarini
Call Number: HD9458.S38 Q56, Geisel 6th fl.

ISBN: 9780738559926

Publication Date: 2009

San Diego has always attracted a rich diversity of immigrant groups. Between the 1880s and 1970s, many of these groups helped to create a strong and dynamic fishing industry that became a key component of the city's identity. The vivid stories and fascinating photographs in this volume recapture the energy and variety that were the hallmarks of San Diego's fishing industry--an industry that has left a deep multicultural imprint on today's city.
Pacific Southwest Airlines by Alan Renga; Mark E. Mentges
Call Number: Alexander Street Press ebook

ISBN: 9780738581125

Publication Date: 2010

With its low fares and friendly service, Pacific Southwest Airlines (PSA) was one of the most successful regional airlines in American history. Although PSA is no longer in operation, its successful business model of low-priced, efficient service was copied by other airlines and today is considered the norm.
Consolidated Aircraft Corporation by Katrina Pescador; Mark Aldrich
Call Number: Alexander Street Press ebook

ISBN: 9780738559384

Publication Date: 2008

Founded by Reuben H. Fleet in 1923, Consolidated Aircraft Corporation (later Convair) became one of the most significant aircraft manufacturers in American history. For roughly 60 years, this prolific company was synonymous with San Diego.