You can access thousands of e-journals, e-books, databases, and more through UC San Diego Library.
For on-campus access, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.
To access library resources from off-campus:
Sign in to UC Library Search with OpenAthens for seamless access.
For help with troubleshooting, visit our Connect to Library Resources page.
Wall Street Journal
UCSD gets the current day's content of the WSJ via WSJ Proquest and Factiva (links below), or sign up for WSJ.com. Use the Proquest interface if you want a precise search for a topic; use WSJ.com or the Factiva version if you want to access to graphics and downloadable audio content. Proquest offers article alerts to your email and can search back to 1980. If you need access to WSJ content older than that, or full page images, use the ProQuest WSJ Historical database.
Includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Search and browse full text and display images of both articles and complete newspaper pages. Via Proquest.
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views, SEC filings, and other reports.
Many North American regional business publications have list features in their weekly publications that are devoted to the top companies or organizations on a particular topic or industry, like top women-owned businesses, top accounting firms, largest employers in... (name a city)., etc. These weekly lists are compiled annually into a Book of Lists for a city or region.
There are two main publishers of these weeklies, and their contents are incorporated into at least one of our subscription resources, Business Journals (Bizjournals), MasterFile Premier and Gale Business Insights. Southern CA local publications are listed below. You'll have to experiment to find similar publications in another region.
Note: not all of the most recent BoL issues are available yet. They will be updated here as they become available. Use the "latest rankings articles" in the meantime.
Historical coverage of the largest daily newspaper in the Western United States.
