California State Government Information: Elections

Offers voter registration forms, information on absentee voting, California voting system and statewide election results from 1996 to present. Has information on current ballot initiatives plus the complete ballot pamphlets back to 1996.

CEDA users "can access a statewide database of local election results" for California counties, incorporated cities, and school and community college districts. Includes reports for 1995-[present].

Provides voter guide for California election, information on voting registration, a directory and map of California voting system and news.

Election Summary includes reports of big donations for each election. Site also provides information on lists of Commissioners, overviews of California campaign disclosure rules, state lobbying rules etc.

A statewide survey regularly since 1956 of opinions and attitudes on social and political issues, including election campaigns. Conducted 4 or more times per year. Data Files suitable for analysis; no tables. See "help" below for more information.

Provides data on campaign contributions in state elections. The information includes contributions by sector, by political party, labor and business. From the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

The largest online archive of California election results. Records currently include state legislative races since 1898, and federal and the statewide offices since 1849.

Maintained by the Institute of Governmental Studies at UC Berkeley, the redistricting database for the state of California. SWDB collects redistricting literature, copies ofcases that are related to redistricting and census enumeration, redistricting news and much more. The raw data via the Internet is free of charge

Print volumes: CA Docs, S400 V6 (latest in reference, earlier editions in CA Docs)

Since the 1920s the government documents section of the UCLA Library has built and maintained a Campaign Literature Collection, containing printed ephemeral election materials distributed by campaigns for local, state, and federal offices and ballot measures affecting the Los Angeles area. In response to changes in election campaigning brought about by the internet, in 1998 the Library also began to capture and preserve copies of campaign websites.

A partnership between the League of Women Voters of California Education Fund’s Smart Voter and MapLight. Provides a variety of information about the election process in California.

Offers voter registration forms, information on absentee voting, California voting system and statewide election results from 1996 to present. Has information on current ballot initiatives plus the complete ballot pamphlets back to 1996.

Full-text of California ballot propositions from 1911 to present. It provides the summary of the proposition, title, years and voting results.

Searchable database of San Francisco ballot propositions back to 1907. From the San Francisco Public Library

Full text pdf, from 1907 - present.

From the National Conference of State Legislatures. Each entry contains the ballot number, title, type (legislative referendum, initiative, popular referendum, other), status, and summary. Covers all states and goes back as far as 1902.

Data is derived from campaign statements on file with the City Clerk.

Election results, economic interests' disclosure, petition and ballot measure processes, and other election related links.

Includes: Candidate Races and Results by Office; Propositions: Ballot Questions and Results by Decade (from 1900 forward); Voter Pamphlets and Election Results by Election Date (from 1970 forward)

The Public Portal contains financial information provided by candidates and committees. It can answer questions about who is contributing money, who is receiving money, and how it is being spent.

Includes past election results and campaign finance disclosure reports; voter Information (registration status and link to cancel registration, polling places, sample ballots, districts, request mail ballots); and pollworker information

Tracks, aggregates, and analyzes polling data from major political polls. Coverage includes gubernatorial elections.

State election laws, redistricting, term limits, historic information and more

NCSL’s Statewide Ballot Measures Database includes all statewide ballot measures in the 50 states and the District of Columbia, starting over a century ago. New measures are added as they are certified and identified by NCSL staff.

Precinct-level election data for all federal and state races at and above State House for 1984-1990.

Elections data from Roper iPoll. Includes primary exit polls, national election exit day polls, and state election day exit polls.

Voting records for representatives and senators, information about presidential candidates, directories of state legislator, campaign finance information, and reference documents such as such as the Constitution, the U.S. Government Manual, and How Our Laws are Made