Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are the best databases to find research and review articles in science education.
Indexes more than 2,850 journals, with full text for more than 1,800. Also indexes 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Search alone or combined with Academic Search Complete, Education Index Retrospective, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and/or Social Sciences Full Text.
Indexes the education literature, covering thousands of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Many of the non-journal documents (accession numbers beginning with ED) are available full-text. You can also filter the results by age group, which you cannot do with the other databases.
**To find empirical articles, select 143 (Reports - Research) under the Document Types filter.
Web of Science
Indexes 18,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations. You can also limit to or exclude review articles.
Like Google, but focused on the scholarly literature. Under Settings, go to Library Links to activate UC-eLinks.
**Pros: Full-text article searching can retrieve articles that may not come up in the other databases, so good for interdisciplinary topics. Also indexes faster than the other databases, so you may get very recent articles. Can also view citing articles and related articles, set up search alerts, etc.
**Cons: Full-text article searching that brings up thousands of articles, with very limited tools to refine search results. Through the Advanced Search, you can exclude words, do some boolean "OR" searching, and limit results to articles where search terms are found in the article titles only.
Other databases you might want to check out as well, either for their indexing or full-text coverage of the education journals.
Indexes articles, books, chapters, thesis, and web pages dealing with psychology. You can also limit search results to empirical studies
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals, with full-text is available for over 5300 journals. Overlaps with Education Source.
Over 32,000 scholarly books now integrated within the popular and powerful JSTOR platform, searchable, viewable, and downloadable as chapters alongside the articles. HOWEVER, the most recent 3-5 years of any journal is unavailable.
Educational Research Abstracts Online (ERA)
Covers current international research in education. Includes the following abstracting journals: Educational management abstracts, Educational technology abstracts, Multicultural education abstracts, Research into higher education abstracts, Sociology of education abstracts, Special educational needs abstracts, and Vocational education and training abstracts.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with full-text provided for most articles published from 1994+.
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Finding Full Text Articles
If the article is not available within the database, click the next to the article record. If there's no option to get the article online:
- Search for the article (by title) in Google, just to confirm we don't have it.
- Click the link for Roger, in case we have it in print. If we have print only, we can scan the article.
- If we don't have the article at all, use the Request It option to get a copy of the article (at no charge) through our Interlibrary Loan service.
If you're not sure whether the article's available, or UC-eLinks isn't directing you to the article correctly, let me know.