Chemical Engineering (older version): Articles / Proceedings / Patents (Databases)

Indexes 18,000+ journals and 180,000 conference proceedings, heavily in the sciences and engineering. Easy interface for building and/or searches to include alternative keywords. Article records include cited and citing references, with related articles identified based on common citations. Good place to being your search.

Essential index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article and patent references, CAS Registry (204 million substances, many include property data information and spectra) & CASREACT (millions of single and multi-step reactions and million synthetic preparations). Search by topic/keyword, author, chemical substance (Registry number, chemical name, structure, substructure) or chemical reaction.

• First-time SciFinder-n users at UCSD must register to create an account. VPN is required to access the registration information from off campus.

Combined search for the Compendex and Inspec engineering databases. Indexes millions of articles, conference papers, standards and other documents in all engineering disciplines, including chemical engineering, nanotechnology, materials science and related subjects. Duplicate references between the two databases can be removed.

Like Google, but focused on the scholarly literature. Under Settings, go to Library Links to activate Get It at UC.
** Using Google Scholar Advanced Search (1-min video)
**Pros: Full-text article searching can retrieve articles that may not come up in the other databases, so good for interdisciplinary topics. Also indexes faster than the other databases, so you may get very recent articles. Can also view citing articles and related articles, set up search alerts, etc.
**Cons: Full-text article searching that brings up thousands of articles, with very limited tools to refine search results. Through the Advanced Search, you can exclude words, do some boolean "OR" searching, and limit results to articles where search terms are found in the article titles only.

Core index to the biomedical literature, covering 5,500 journals in medicine and related sciences. Excellent for bio- topics like bionano-, biomaterials, biomedical engineering, and biochemistry. Search results are "mapped" to the database's subject headings to retrieve additional articles, For these topics, you may also want to search Embase.

Indexes journals (including some full text), magazines, conferences, and other documents for topics in materials science. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts.

Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles in more than 11,000 journals, with full-text available for over 5,300 journals. Indexes scholarly sources and popular ones like magazines and newspapers, but you can limit results to one or the other.