Skip to main content
FINDING BOOKS AND MORE
Online catalog of UCSD Library
UCSD, SDSU, USD, CSUSM, San Diego County and City libraries combined catalog
University of California and libraries worldwide
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and an access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyrighted content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Content is full-text searchable; most items published before 1923 are full-text viewable and downloadable.
THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
Dissertations and Theses
The Dissertations and Theses database from ProQuest cites 2.3 million works issued by graduate institutions in North America and beyond from 1861 to the present. PDF full texts of most UC dissertations
starting about 1997 are available online at no charge.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a good source for foreign dissertations; our CRL membership provides free loans for UCSD researchers.
Additional ETD Links
Use this UCSD LibGuide for more links to ETD (electronic theses and dissertations) repositories across the globe.
SOME APPROACHES TO THE LITERATURE
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies
Annotated, peer-reviewed bibliographies of topics spanning the Latin American studies field, from 16th-Century New Spain to Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas. Cites secondary and primary sources.
Handbook of Latin American Studies: HLAS Online
Benchmark annual bibliography, published since 1936, of works selected and annotated by scholar contributors and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. HLAS includes both books and journal articles and alternates annually between social sciences and humanities fields.
Latin America: A Guide to the Historical Literature by
Page images of this classic 1971 reference work are subscribed here on the ACLS e-book platform. The volume contains annotated citations of books, chapters, articles, bibliographies, documentary sources, and guides to manuscripts.
The Cambridge History of Latin America by
Call Number: F1410 .C1834 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Volumes 1 & 2 cover the colonial era. The books and articles cited therein are listed in brief form online: References Volume 1
& References Volume 2
. Volume 11 contains bibliographical essays.
The Cambridge Economic History of Latin America by
Call Number: HC125 .C29 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Volume 1 covers the colonial era. The books and articles cited therein are listed in brief form online: References Volume 1
. Also includes bibliographical essays.
Guide to Documentary Sources for Andean Studies, 1530-1900 by
Call Number: F3429 .G845 2008
Publication Date: 2008
If Harold is not available
Get help when you need it. Check out the options.