The Archive for New Poetry is a comprehensive research collection of American poetry and poetics reflecting and documenting alternative approaches to writing in the English language that have emerged since 1945. Although the Archive includes mainstream and academic poets, particularly those whose works are antecedent to post-war American experimental writing, most of the collection focuses on the "New American" poets: the Black Mountain poets, the Objectivist movement, the San Francisco Renaissance, the New York School, and the language writers.
The Archive's focus on documenting experimental work, including public performances and collaborative efforts, has led to extensive collecting beyond published poems. In addition to monographs, anthologies, and works on criticism and interpretation, the Archive has substantial holdings of literary manuscripts and correspondence, publishers' and editors' archives, broadsides, sound recordings, "little magazines" and ephemeral printings, artist's books, concrete poems, and serials both established and short-lived.
Learn more about our Special Collections & Archives here: https://library.ucsd.edu/research-and-collections/special-collections-and-archives/index.html
Hours: Monday - Friday 9am-5pm
Please register in the Request System with your Active Directory log in and request material before your visit. Special Collections has "closed stacks," meaning that you cannot browse the shelves. You must select material from the library catalog or the manuscript finding aids first.
When you come in, the staff person at the Reference Desk will greet you and ask for your name. If it is your first visit, they will ask for your photo ID. They will also go over the following policies with you:
All material in Special Collections &Archives must be used in the Special Collections Reading Room
Click this link to see what manuscript collections we have in the ANP:
Click on the "Finding Aid" link to see the details of what each collection is comprised of. You'll find correspondence, drafts, notebooks, photos and more. These will be arranged into numbered folders and boxes.
To request material, check the folders you would like to see and then click the submit request button at the top of the page on the left-hand side.
The ANP has over 35,000 books and other published material (such as chapbooks and boradsides) in the Library Catalog. You can search by author, title, or keyword. To see what materials are in Special Collections, select "Special Collections & Archives" under the Library section on the left-hand side of the search results page.
Click the "Special Collections Request" link in the catalog record to request to see that item.
Please note that some material is stored offsite and must be requested ahead of time. These items will be listed as Offsite Annex or Offsite SRLF.
Sometimes we will also have a circulating copy of a book on the 7th floor of Geisel that you can check out.
Check out the Library Digital Collections for ANP material that we have online:
