Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access

Open Access Books

These suggested resources for Open Access Books highlighted here are primarily focused on scholarly monographs. For more information about finding textbooks please visit our online guide to Open Education Resources where there are helpful resources for finding and adapting Open textbooks.

Finding Books

Hathi Trust

Digital library containing over 8 million books (as well as other digitized materials) from research libraries and cultural institutions around the world, mainly digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiative. Full text searching of all materials is available. The collection is largely older titles in the public domain.

Directory of Open Access Books

Searchable directory of over 15,000 academic, peer-reviewed books covering all major subject areas.

OAPEN

Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) has a digital repository containing over 1500 academic, peer-reviewed books across all disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Books

A discovery service for open access books operated by the OAPEN foundation. This online directory contains over 15,000 academic, peer-reviewed books and chapters covering all disciplines.

Open Text.World 

An experimental service that provides free access to digitised text collections from around the world. Think of it as a search engine for books.

Every year, libraries worldwide digitise hundreds of thousands of books. Open Texts brings (some of!) those collections together, allowing you to search across a multitude of different libraries worldwide.

 

Open Book Publishers

Open Book Publishers

Founded in 2008, Open Book Publishers are one of the biggest open access academic publishers in the world with a huge catalog of titles across all disciplines. It is run by academics as a not-for-profit social enterprise.

University of California Press

Luminos is the Open Access arm of University of California Press. Dozens of peer-reviewed Open Access monographs across a range of subjects are available online.

MIT Press Open Access

Open Access arm of MIT Press. Publishes a range of Open Access books including monographs, textbooks, and trade books dating back to 1995.

Cornell Open

Publisher of new and classic out-of-print titles from Cornell University Press. Titles from the areas of anthropology, classics, literary criticism and theory, political science, German studies, and Slavic studies.

UCL Press

The first fully open access publisher in the UK, UCL Press publishes scholarly monographs, textbooks, edited collections and journals across all disciplines.

Lever Press

A scholarly press supported by more than 50 American liberal arts institutions. Lever Press publishes peer-reviewed, born digital, open access monographs at no cost to our authors or their academic institutions.