Organic Chemistry Projects: Finding Information About Your Compound

Good starting place, with articles from scholarly journals and popular sources like magazines and trade publications (which you can limit if you just want to see one group). Many of the articles are full-text in the database; otherwise use UC-eLinks to check for the article elsewhere.

One of our core chemistry encyclopedias, Search or browse articles about organic compounds, including those related food, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics. Subtopics may include history, uses, toxicology, and economics. This encyclopedia is regularly updated, so check the publication date for the specific article to make sure it's recent enough to be of use.

Another one of our core reference works for chemistry, Ullmann's is similar to Kirk-Othmer. You'll find articles about organic compounds (including food and health/beauty products). This encyclopedia is regularly updated, so check the publication date for the specific article to make sure it's recent enough to be of use.

Database of information 11,500 significant chemical compounds. Includes uses, basic properties, and key references to the literature (when it was first isolated, synthesized, etc).

World's largest collection of freely available chemical information, with more than 115 million compounds records (compiled from 300+ million substance records), The records include physical properties, spectra, safety and hazard information, and more, There are more than 900 data sources contributing to PubChem, primarily chemical vendors, research and development organizations, and government agencies.