LibGuides: Public Health: Home

The Basics:

Databases A-Z
Know which resource you want? Find it here.
Interlibrary Loan
Ask us to get a book or article that is not in our collection.
UC-eLinks - for full-text access
Set up for research from Off-Campus
Careers in Public Health

Today's Exercise

Topic Development Worksheet

Article Databases Quick Links

PubMed
The key biomedical database for health sciences - covering topics in medicine, nursing, psychiatry, and public health.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals, with full-text is available for over 5300 journals. Indexes popular and scholarly sources, but you can limit results to scholarly journals.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
UC San Diego only. On-campus or VPN from off-campus.
Embase
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via ProQuest *Preferred Platform*
"Educational Resources Information Center" is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature from all disciplines.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
PsycINFO
UC San Diego only. On-campus or VPN from off campus.
Google Scholar
To help focus your results, add intitle: to you search strategy. (No space between the colon and your next term.)
Science.Gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Not limited to public health topics, The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on public affairs and policy from 1972+. The newly available PAIS Archive covers the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin published 1915-1976.

Finding Health Statistics

Get a List of Sources

Public Health Data & Statistics

Understanding the Search for Health Statistics

Finding Health Statistics
Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Health Statistics and Numerical Data Subject Guide
From the National Library of Medicine

Got Questions or Need Help?

Karen Heskett

Email Me

Contact:
858/534-1199

Subjects: Endnote, Endnote Online, Health Sciences, Medicine, Mendeley, Psychiatry, Public Health, Zotero

Ask a Librarian

Get help when you need it. Get in touch by chat or email, or schedule a consultation.

Ask a Librarian
Including 24/7 Chat service