Spectra: Spectroscopy Textbooks

Provides advanced undergraduate and graduate students a working knowledge of the vast field of spectroscopy, emphasizing the fundamental principles of spectroscopy with the primary goal of teaching the interpretation of spectra. [4th edition, 2020]

Succinct compilation of essential reference data for the interpretation of NMR, IR, UV/Vis, and mass spectra also provides a hands-on guide for interpreting experimental spectral data and elucidating the structure of the respective compounds behind them. [4th edition, 2020]

The authors travel with the reader through the challenging maze of structure determination, showing how to distinguish between valuable and deceiving data from IR, NMR and MS spectra, extracting structural conclusions and putting all the pieces together to solve the structure elucidation puzzle. Indeed, human reasoning is key to combining the information contained in those bands, signals and peaks by a rationale that enables the makeup of a chemical structure. A number of increasingly more complex problems will act as trip segments and, in addition to the spectra themselves, each chapter is supplemented with figures and tables that decipher the above data and serve as maps for the journey. [2020]

Balanced mixture of practice-oriented information and theoretical background on mass spectrometry, as well as numerous references, clear illustrations, and useful data tables. Problems and solutions are accessible via a special website. [3rd edition, 2017]

Carefully chosen set of about 250 structural problems employing the major modern spectroscopic techniques, including Mass Spectrometry, 1D and 2D 13C and 1H NMR Spectroscopy and Infrared Spectroscopy. Includes condensed tables of characteristic spectral properties covering the frequently encountered functional groups. .[6th edition, 2020]

Complete coverage of classic (one-dimensional) NMR as well as up-to-date coverage of two-dimensional NMR and other modern methods. It contains practical advice, theory, illustrated applications, and classroom-tested problems; looks at such important ideas as relaxation, NOEs, phase cycling, and processing parameters; and provides brief, yet fully comprehensible, examples. [2019]

Print version
Solutions manual can be accessed at Wiley. Enter 9781119295235 for the ISBN to access a ZIP file with the solutions.

Shows how to solve chemical structures with NMR by giving many new, clear examples for readers to understand and try, with new solutions provided in the text. Enables organic chemistry students to choose the most appropriate NMR techniques to solve specific structures. [2nd edition, 2016].

Principles of the relationship between chemical structure and the NMR spectrum are developed in a logical, step-by-step fashion Includes examples and exercises based on real NMR data including full 600 MHz one- and two-dimensional datasets of sugars, peptides, steroids and natural products Includes detailed solutions and explanations in the text for the numerous examples and problems and also provides large, very detailed and annotated sets of NMR data for use in understanding the material. [2016]

Additional exercises and solutions are available at Wiley (password is the 3rd word of the chapter 6 title).

Presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, as well as multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy, with an extensive set of practice and real-data problems. [8th edition, 2015]

A carefully chosen set of more than 60 structural problems employing 2D-NMR spectroscopy. , incorporating the basic theory behind 2D NMR and those common 2D NMR experiments that have proved most useful in solving structural problems in organic chemistry. [2015]

Print also available
Solutions manual

A primary text for a course in two-dimensional (2-D) nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) techniques, with the goal to learn to identify organic molecular structure. It presents strategies for assigning resonances to known structures and for deducing structures of unknown organic molecules based on their NMR spectra. Each chapter includes problems that will enable readers to test their understanding of the material discussed. The book contains 30 known and 30 unknown structure determination problems. [2nd edition, 2012]

The most up-to-date integrated spectroscopy text available, Organic Structure Analysis, Second Edition, is the only text that teaches students how to solve structures as they are solved in actual practice. Ideal for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in organic structure analysis, organic structure identification, and organic spectroscopy, it emphasizes real applications--integrating theory as needed--and introduces students to the latest spectroscopic methods. [2010]

Dedicated to qualitative organic chemistry, this book explains how to identify organic compounds through step-by-step instructions. Topics include elemental analysis, solubility, infrared, nuclear magnetic resonance and mass spectra; classification tests; and preparation of a derivative. Most directions for experiments are described in micro or mini scales. Discusses chromatography, distillations and the separation of mixtures. Questions and problems emphasize the skills required in identifying unknown samples.