Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on the Stuart Collection
Landmarks: sculpture commissions for the Stuart Collection at the University of California San Diego : the art of paying attention by
Call Number: NB30.S78 B43 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In 1981, The Stuart Foundation, a not-for-profit foundation dedicated to funding experimental public sculpture, and the University of California, San Diego formed an extraordinary partnership to create a major public, site-specific sculpture collection with works through out the campus. This collection has played an important role in the arena of public art. Instead of asking artists to create an object, without reference to the site, they ask that each artist explore the campus carefully, and create a site-specific piece that could be integrated into the beautifully landscaped, 1,200-acre UCSD campus in La Jolla. The collection now includes 20 works by some of the most important contemporary artists, including William Wegman, Bruce Nauman, Kiki Smith, Robert Irwin, Do Ho Suh and Mark Bradford, among others. Landmarks is an updated edition of the only book focused on this premier collection of site specific public art.
Stuart Collection photographs. Selections of photographs of all the works currently in the collection as well as documentation of the construction process, installations and re-installations, models and maquettes, proposed and design drawings, photos of artists, in-studio images, site-planning and sites before construction, details, restorations, people interacting with artworks, and events incorporating artworks.
Stuart Collection records. Video and audio recordings of the site-specific public sculptures and interviews with the artists.
Stuart Collection website and Stuart Collection videos