| Stanford University: Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections | |
|---|---|
| Mailing Address | Stanford University Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections 201 Mitchell Building MC 2211 397 Panama Mall Stanford, CA 94305 |
| Digital Collections |
Spotlight exhibits for Maps and Geography: https://exhibits.stanford.edu/?tag=Maps+%26+Geography |
| Map Collection Contact | Zoe Dilles |
| Map Collection Location |
Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections (Mitchell Earth Sciences Building) |
| Map Collection Hours | Typically: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Friday 1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Sunday |
| Central ILL | Green Library (650) 725-1278 stfborrowing@stanford.edu HOURS: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F Preferred hours for telephone contact: 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F |
| Preferred Method of Requesting | Contact Map Librarian via email or telephone. |
| Lending Policies | All UC students and faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges with Stanford University Libraries. all map items borrowed for Stanford's map collections at Branner Library by UC students and faculty. The borrowing period is 28 days. One renewal is allowed. All items are subject to recall at any time by another requesting library patron. |
| Description of Collection | Approximately 250,000 sheets, predominantly 20th century. Strengths in mapping of Africa, Latin America, and Earth Sciences worldwide. |
| Stanford University: David Rumsey Map Center | |
|---|---|
| Mailing Address |
Stanford University Green Library
557 Escondido Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-6063
|
| Digital Exhibits |
Spotlight exhibits for Maps and Geography: https://exhibits.stanford.edu/?tag=Maps+%26+Geography |
| Head and Curator | Evan Thornberry |
| Map Collection Contact | rumseymapcenter@stanford.edu (650) 498-8698 |
| Map Collection Hours | We encourage visitors to drop in during open hours. |
| Visiting the David Rumsey Map Center | The David Rumsey Map Center is housed inside the Green Library. Entry to Green Library requires either a Stanford ID card or visitor registration with a government-issued photo ID, plus having a photo taken at the registration kiosk. Learn more about Stanford Libraries’ visitor policies. We are located on the fourth floor, with a stairwell entry just off the Munger Rotunda of the Bing Wing, which is located on the second floor. Ask at the library entry desk about special elevator access if you need step-free entry. |
| Description of Collection |
We are the premiere historical cartographic collection on the West Coast and hold one of the world’s great collections available for public research and global digital access. The collection numbers in the hundreds of thousands of digital and physical objects, with new acquisitions added on a weekly basis. |
