Skip to main content
Film Journalsin Roger (UCSD)- subject search Motion pictures -- periodicals
An example of some of the library's databases. These are a good places to begin your research.
You can use the same search strategies in journals as you do for books.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals
American Film Institute (AFI)
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008.
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film Index International
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Film Literature Index
1976-2001. Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities.
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
Roger is UCSD Libraries on-line catalog of books, journals & other resources. Let's use Vampire films as a subject for a paper.
Title - Count Dracula goes to the movies: Stoker's novel adapted, 1922-1995
Author - Joslin, Lyndon. As always, last name first.
Keyword - vampire* or vampire* movies. Use * to match 1-5 characters (vampire & vampires & vampyre)
Subject (LC subject headings). When you find a book that is useful you can use subject headings to expand or refine your searching.,
If UCSD does not have the book try; Circuit(CSUSM, SDSU, USD) You can try Circuit directly from Roger. Inter-Library Loan You can ILL a book by using the REQUEST feature. You can also, try Next Gen/Melvyl (see below)
Searchall UC libraries or Libraries worldwide. Use same searches you would in Roger - (example - Vampire films -- History and criticism)
Film Journal International
is a trade publication and website covering the motion picture industry, with special emphasis on theatrical exhibition. Articles report on U.S. and international news, with features on upcoming movies, industry trends, theatre design, equipment, concessions, digital cinema, sound, screen advertising, and other industry-related topics.
Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham
The Film Journal is a Central Ohio-based, independently produced, online film publication, which seeks to contribute to the community of serious-minded film websites by being a forum for eclectic film criticism, study and discussion. The Film Journal seeks to highlight local film events, as well as feature international film writing.
Film International started in 1973 as Filmhäftet in Sweden and has through the years recruited contributors among the most distinguished scholars and journalists around the world.
Millennium Film Journal
Since 1978 the Millennium Film Journal has published articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and works using digital technologies.
Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism is the successor to Movie, the print journal that was edited, designed and published by the late Ian A. Cameron from 1962 to 2000.
a quarterly, independently published film journal
Sense of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema.
A search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized texts from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Lan-Tern is open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts