Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film Journals Online
Film International started in 1973 as Filmhäftet in Sweden and has through the years recruited contributors among the most distinguished scholars and journalists around the world.
Film Journal International
Monthly trades magazine publishing reviews of major and independent film release, profiles of filmmakers and industry executives, articles on industry trends and new technologies, construction and design, theatre sound, equipment and concessions.
Since 1996, IndieWire has grown into a preeminent source for independent film and television news, reviews, interviews, global festival coverage and more.
Looking at media in its social and political context since 1974. Analyzing media in relation to class, race, and gender.
The search and visualization platform for nearly 2 million pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Millennium Film Journal
Since 1978 the Millennium Film Journal has published articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and works using digital technologies.
Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism
A refereed open access publication whose aim is to create a forum for the range of analysis, debate and discussion that only a journal devoted to a detailed film criticism can adequately provide.
Moving picture world and the silent cinema era, 1907-1927
From Gale: Moving Picture World set a standard for the broadest
possible coverage, reviewed current releases and published news,
features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the film industry.
A publication of the Museum of the Moving Image.
Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham
Sense of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema.
Entertainment industry magazine archive. Collection I, Music, radio and the stage This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing 17 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000
Entertainment industry magazine archive. Collection II, Cinema, film and television (part 1) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource that features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK between 1905 and 2000
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
1976-2001. The Film Literature Index Online, (1976-2001) was retired effective 12/6/2021. You can now access the FLI through EBSCO Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
American Film Institute (AFI)
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008.
Find articles in multidisciplinary resources
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks, and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the web vpn (https://vpn.ucsd.edu) to get full access to UCSD article content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.