Last Updated: Dec 8, 2011
Our collections are tailored to meet the current and ongoing research and instructional needs of faculty and students in the Department of Literature. These areas include literature of all genres, visual arts, history, and the history of science, many of which necessarily extend into the realm of philosophy and religion. UCSD's collections also support the broad interdisciplinary interests of the Making of the Modern World core sequence.
- Acta Sanctorum
Online version of encyclopedic work (published 1643-1940) on the lives of Christian saints. Key resource for the history of Christianity and the Latin Middle Ages.
- Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography)
1969-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. (Print edition of the most recent 10 years available in SSHL reference, call number PA3001 .A613.)
- Classics Studies Web
Provides access to scholarly resources in Classical Studies. The geographical coverage includes the Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods.
- Digital Text Project
A collection full text primary sources in the areas of Philosophy and Classical Studies.
- Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic focus is the Aegean; the chronological range is the prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
- Patrologia Latina
The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, 0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Phone (858) 534-6443
Fax (858) 534-7548Send Email