Skip to main content

EndNote Online: Endnote Online at UC San Diego

Sometimes called Endnote Online, EndNote Web, or EndNote Basic - all of them are different names for the same thing which is a free citation manager and is similar and compatible with Endnote desktop. This page offers information that will help you creat

The Overview:  Collect -- Organize -- Format

Using bibliographic management programs, such as EndNote Web, to keep track of your references helps you organize them, link them to full text articles, and also share your "library" with others. The "Cite While You Write" feature allows you to quickly and easily format papers, bibliographies and other documents in the style of your choice - simply choose from the thousands of available styles. 

 

EndNote is one of the most popular programs used at UCSD and EndNote Web is the free version of that program, albeit, not as fully featured as the purchased version. EndNote Web is a web-based tool that can help manage your citations and properly format the references in papers and other documents.  It is:

  • Mac & PC friendly
  • Pulls in references from catalogs (i.e., Roger or Melvyl) or from databases (e.g., JStor, PubMed, or Web of Science)
  • Works with MS Word and other word processors to properly insert references and format the bibliography or works cited list.
  • Sharable with colleagues in read only or read-write accessible mode.

Create Your Free Account

Use EndNote Web for free via the Libraries' subscription. 

Sign up option #1:

If using a UCSD connected computer, go to myendnoteweb.com to create your new account.  Once there,

1)  Click the link for Create an account.  

2)  Enter the email you want to use.

3)  Fill out the short registration form and Create your login ID and password.

Be sure to check out the password requirements.  Their requirments can be tricky.

4)  Read & Agree to their to their Agreement statement. 

5)  Your EndNote Web account is ready to use.

 

Sign up option #2

If you are already in the Web of Science database, you can sign up for an account from the link in there. - look for the EndNote link at the top. Click it and enter your email address (does not have to be a ucsd email).

Note:  Those who purchased EndNote for a computer have a more powerful EndNote Web account and can sign up within EndNote itself.


Want to See What it Will Look Like?


EndNote Basic vs Online

The difference is whether the account is associated with our subscription or not.  See EndNote's explanation on types of accounts.

Differences by the Numbers

  • EndNote Online or as it is sometimes called, EndNote Basic, is free for anyone to use.
  • The version associated with our databases has added functionality -- be sure to sign up when on campus or from the Web of Science databases.
    • Up to 2 GB of storage for attaching those hard to find PDFs
    • Appearance of the UC-eLinks button to easily connect to library subscriptions.
    • Access to over 3,000 citation styles AND, if what you need is not included, contact the UC San Diego EndNote Basic administrator to add the one you need.
    • Many databases are directly exportable to UCSD's EndNote Online as well as more resources are searchable from within EndNote Online.
  • EndNote Online associated with a purchased product has the greatest amount of functionality (5 GB) and now can synch automatically with the desktop software.
Loading

Frequently Asked Questions

Q:  Do I need the VPN when using EndNote Online from off campus.

A:  Once you have an EndNote Web account, you do not need the VPN to access your library.  However, if you want to see the full-text of any articles, you will need the VPN to do that.

Q:  How can I learn more about EndNote Online?

A:  There are a number of ways to learn about the program - from in person workshops or consults at the library to online tutorials.