Skip to Main Content
The Library

Mathematics & Statistics: Home

Guide to research for advanced undergraduate, graduate students and mathematicians

Connect to Library Resources

Working remotely? Set VPN to 2-Step Secured - allthruucsd.  Test connection and installation links.
Working on campus? Use UCSD Protected WiFi, not Guest nor eduroam.

New and updated Mathematics & Statistics Resources

The UC libraries now have access to the newer 2024 and 2025 content in STMnetBASE.  This includes MATHnetBASE e-books and STATSnetBASE e-books  from CRC, Chapman & Hall, etc.   Individual titles are being cataloged/linked in UC Library Search this fall.  Let me know if you have questions about a particular title or other issues.

Springer 2024 e-books are now available as of January 2, 2025.  However, the UC's did not purchase Springer's 2 newest spinoff collections categorized as Artificial Intelligence and Mechanical Engineering.  Only Open Access titles in the Mechanical Engineering 2025 package are accessible.

March 2025 update: We are working on adding a subscription to the American Mathematical Society e-books this year instead of buying select series a year or two after the fact.  Let me know if you want UC San Diego Library to buy an AMS book and we don't have it in print nor have it online.
ACM collection 3 is in the process of being paid and activated as is the IoP final e-book package of 80 titles.

Library News for engineering, math & physical science

  • Deadline Extended! Apply for the 2025 Undergraduate Library Research PrizeThis link opens in a new window Got a research project you’re proud of? Want to earn recognition — and $1,000 — for your work? There’s still time to apply for the 2025 Undergraduate Library Research Prize (ULRP)! New Deadline: Sunday, May 4, 2025 This prestigious award celebrates students who have demonstrated a strategic and effective use of Library resources in support … Apr 28, 2025
  • Featured E-Resources: April 2025This link opens in a new window The Library would like to showcase some electronic resources in our collection that you may find useful for your studies. They span multiple disciplines and are available to the entire UC San Diego community, either on campus or remotely via the VPN. For questions about these resources, contact us. These resources are licensed by the Library, so please … Apr 18, 2025
  • Support Student Success — Make Textbooks Affordable for All!This link opens in a new window Make Twice the Impact This Triton Giving Day The rising cost of textbooks and course materials puts a financial strain on Triton students, making academic success more challenging than ever. Some students spend more than $1,200 a year on textbooks alone, forcing difficult choices between purchasing required materials and meeting basic needs. At UC San … Apr 9, 2025
  • Celebrate Earth Month with Sustainability-Related BooksThis link opens in a new window Celebrate Earth Month by checking out a sustainability-related book or two! Stop by the Meet Spot near Geisel Library’s main entrance during the month of April and browse a selection of sustainability-related titles. The theme for Earth Day 2025 is our power and our planet, with a focus on clean, renewable energy. Apr 7, 2025
  • Last Call for 2025 Art of Science Contest SubmissionsThis link opens in a new window Calling all undergraduate and graduate students, postdocs, faculty and project scientists: You have until Sunday, April 25 at 11:59 p.m. PT to submit visually engaging images derived from your research! Read below for more details. Explore the beauty of scientific discovery through the Art of Science contest, where research meets creativity. UC San Diego students, … Apr 4, 2025
  • UC San Diego Welcomes Visiting Scholars From KazakhstanThis link opens in a new window UC San Diego Division of Extension Studies recently hosted a group of visiting scholars from Kazakhstan as part of the Bolashak Leadership Academy for International Professionals. As the first cohort concluded their time in San Diego, they expressed their appreciation by donating books to the Library on Kazakhstan and their respective research areas. On March … Mar 21, 2025
  • Featured E-Resources: March 2025This link opens in a new window The Library would like to showcase some electronic resources in our collection that you may find useful for your studies. They span multiple disciplines and are available to the entire UC San Diego community, either on campus or remotely via the VPN. For questions about these resources, contact us. O’Reilly for Higher Education O’Reilly for Higher Education … Mar 18, 2025
  • Kenward Elmslie’s Enduring Impact on PoetryThis link opens in a new window This story is from the Fall/Winter 2024-25 issue of Explore, UC San Diego Library’s signature publication published for a broad readership of patrons and supporters both on and off campus. The Library has received a $500,000 endowment from the estate of poet, performer and librettist Kenward Elmslie to support the Archive for New Poetry (ANP) … Mar 11, 2025
  • Apply for the 2025 Undergraduate Library Research PrizeThis link opens in a new window This prestigious award recognizes undergraduate students who have demonstrated a strategic and effective use of the Library’s resources in support of their research and presented a research project under faculty mentorship within the past 12 months. The contest is co-sponsored by UC San Diego Library, UC San Diego Alumni and the Undergraduate Research Hub. Eligibility … Mar 1, 2025
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window
  • New Popular Science Books – Summer 2023This link opens in a new window A lot of new arrivals for our popular science reading collection, including The exceptions : Nancy Hopkins, MIT, and the fight for women in science, Vitamin C : a 500-year scientific biography from scurvy to pseudoscience, and A history of the world through body parts : the stories behind the organs, appendages, digits, and the … Jun 12, 2023
  • New Encyclopedias: Chemistry, Electronic Materials, and MedicineThis link opens in a new window The UC San Diego Library recently purchased these Elsevier major reference works: Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry, 3rd edition covers fundamental principles, recent discoveries, and significant applications of elements and their compounds, focusing on main group chemistry, biological inorganic chemistry, solid state and materials chemistry, catalysis, and new developments in electrochemistry and photochemistry, as well as NMR … Jun 6, 2023
  • New Popular Science Books for the Winter BreakThis link opens in a new window Looking for some reading over the coming winter break? Check out the latest titles added to our Popular Science Collection (Geisel 2 West Wing). The books on the guide all have links back to UC Library Search, so you can make sure it’s on the shelf if you want to check it out. Dec 2, 2022
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window