CAT: Finding Sources

Research Guide for the CAT Writing Program

Information Resources

UC Library Search
UC Library Search, the UCSD online catalog, lists all the materials you have access to as a student. You'll mostly use it to find books. Through UCLS you can search wider, and locate books in other San Diego libraries or throughout the UC system (see below).

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Use the Database A-Z list and filter by subject to find a list of databases that are "best bets" within an area of study.

Use a subject guide curated by a subject specialist to locate information based on an area of study.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.