Many organizations are doing great work to help preserve and provide access to federal websites and data. The list below highlights a few of these organizations and archives of federal data/websites.
I also highly recommend taking a look at these first three resources, which are guides created by librarians at other institutions. They include many additional resources of possible interest.
Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal (CCHHL) data dump, via Internet Archive
Bibliographic information about research items (e.g. journal articles) as compiled by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS).
Data.gov archive, via Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab
A regularly updated mirror of all data linked from data.gov.
The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations. It serves as a clearinghouse for data rescue efforts and data access points for public US governmental data currently at risk. See what data is currently being saved via their Data Rescue Tracker.
A crowd-sourced ICPSR repository for government data.
EDGI: Environmental Data & Governance Initiative
Works to preserve data and web pages from EPA, DOE, NOAA, OSHA, NASA, USDA, DOI, and USGS. Monitors federal websites for changes made to environmental content. See also their Federal Environmental Web Tracker, which documents "changes to environment-related federal webpages that EDGI’s team deems noteworthy."
Captures and saves U.S. government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT project has preserved websites from administration changes since 2008.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) Archive, via Internet Archive
ERIC is a digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the US Department of Edcuation, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Find Lost Data, via Boston University School of Public Health Center for Health Data Science
Provides cross-search for datasets across various sites, including archive.org's CDC mirror, Harvard Dataverse, Data Rescue Project, Climate Program Portal, Harvard's data.gov mirror, and DataLumos.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), based at University of Michigan
A data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. (Note for UCSD affiliates: to download data, create a personal account using your ucsd.edu email address while accessing the database from a UCSD computer, UCSD-PROTECTED wireless, or the campus VPN.)
The Journalist's Resource, via Harvard Kennedy School
Includes alternative sources of government data hosted on non-governmental sites, as well as current data rescue efforts. Focus is on health-related resources.
Repository of NIH-funded research data and other materials underlying publication figures and tables. Remains an active repository for discovery and reuse of public outputs, but no longer accepts new submission.
Policy Commons 2025 Open Collection (coming 3/23/25; free, but requires registration)
Initiative to rescue and preserve materials from government organizations facing the removal of public information and data.
Public Data Repository (via UC Santa Barbara)
Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from several federal domains.
Public Environmental Data Partners
Collaborative effort to preserve and provide public access to federal environmental data.
A mirror site of the CDC's website prior to January 20, 2025, before the new administration began removing content. The goal for this site was to create a site that functions the same way the pre-January 21, 2025 CDC.gov site operated. See also, data.restoredcdc.org for data downloads.
WebRecorder US Government Web Archive
In collaboration with the End of Term Web Archive, Webrecorder hosts archives of several federal websites: PatentsView.org, digital.gov, Global Change Research Program, FEMA, Indian Health Service, CDC, Climate.gov, EPA, Department of Education, Sea Level Change, Climate & Economic Justice Screening Tool, and USAID.
