Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Los Angeles Times (1881 - present) This link opens in a new window
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Los Angeles Times.
New York Times (1851 - current) This link opens in a new window
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The new successor to LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in Latin American History. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Annotated peer-reviewed bibliographies of topics spanning the Latin American studies field, alphabetically from 16th-Century New Spain to Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas.
Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new window
Includes a collection of popular movie periodicals covering Mexican films from 1902 through 1960's including Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), El Cine Gráfico (1935) and El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910), an arts magazine that covered cinema, as well as Cinelandia (1931-1947), published in Hollywood both in Spanish and in English. The collection is from the Cineteca at UNAM in Mexico City.
Film Studies article databases
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Entertainment industry magazine archive. Collection II, Cinema, film and television (part 1) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource that features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK between 1905 and 2000
Entertainment industry magazine archive. Collection II, Cinema, film and television (part 2) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource that features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK between 1907 and 2015
Latin American Studies and History databases
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.