LibGuides: African Studies: Home

Newspapers

Africa Confidential
Africa Confidential is one of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent. Features continent-wide, on-the-ground coverage and identifies and monitors upcoming issues before they are picked up by the general media. Contributors write under strict anonymity to ensure writers’ personal safety.
African Newspapers : from the World Newspaper Archive
Searchable collection of historical African newspapers. Includes over 40 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe
Global Press Archive: East African Newspapers
The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during a critical time, which witnessed the growth of decolonization as independence movements swelled, and local, autonomous self-governance took hold throughout the region. This period was also punctuated by famine, drought, political uprisings, border disputes, and war as countries worked to navigate the post-colonial landscape.

EAN features newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s, with over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides 24-page previews. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: African History
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.Over 375 subject chapters online as of summer 2021.

Government Documents

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
The Confidential Print series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originating out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Government’s perspective.

Article Databases

AfricaBib
Free database of social sciences citations relating to Africa. Comprised of seven sub-databases: Africana Periodical Literature; African Women; Women Travelers to Africa; Islam in Africa; Kenya Coast; Water and Africa; and Education in Africa.
Archive of African Journals Search
Dates vary. Search archive of 11 social science and humanities journals published in Africa. Most issues are in 1989s and 1990s. Some earlier, and a few 2000 and later.
Africa-Wide Information
19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles,newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, much more. Nearly 2 million records
IIBP: International Index to Black Periodicals
Citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean (as far back as 1902)--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward)

Reference Sources

Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Oxford Handbooks Online
UC San Diego has purchased all OHO subject content released through 2020, over 1000 titles spanning Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology.
Complete title list: https://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/fileasset/TitleListforSales_July2020.xlsx
Oxford Reference Online
Search or browse dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics
Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). It is interdisciplinary in scope, and supports study and research in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and related fields.

Streaming video

World History in Video
Online collection of streaming video, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
Kanopy
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection
Stream documentary and social issues films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences..
Films on Demand
Contains outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.

Primary Source collections

African Diaspora (1860-Present)
Includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. The collection includes 70,000 pages of never-before digitized primary documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.

Subject Librarian

Farshad Sonboldel

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

9500 Gilman Drive 0175C, La Jolla, CA92093

8588225890

Subjects: Classical Studies, European Studies, History, Middle East Studies

Getting Assistance

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.

Ask a Librarian
Including 24/7 Chat service
Request a Consultation
Attend a Library Workshops