Bioengineering: Scholarly Articles

Finding Journals

If you have a specific article you are looking for, or want to know if UCSD subscribes to a specific journal, it is easiest to use the Journal Search.

Reviews

Journals

Annals of Biomedical Engineering
Bioengineering (open access)
Biotechnology and Bioengineering
Engineering in Life Sciences (open access)
Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology (open access)
IEEE Journal of Translational Engineering in Health and Medicine (open access)
IEEE Open Journal of Engineering in Medicine and Biology (open access)
IEEE Transactions on Neural Systems and Rehabilitation Engineering (open access)
IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering

Subject Databases

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
1913-1983. Provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues & trends in the history of business & industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science & technology for the 20th Century. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective 1913-1983.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.

Entrez from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Search across multiple NCBI databases, including Protein, Genome, Nucleotide, Structure, and more....

Embase
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
IEEE Xplore
NEW Image Search feature. Learn more.
1988-present [+ archives for select publications.]

Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books (later titles on Wiley). Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers is a feature.
Tip: The default in IEEE Xplore is to search metadata only, which includes abstracts, indexing terms, and bibliographic citation information. To do a full-text search, go to the Advanced Search page and select "Full text & Metadata" from the drop-down list.
Inspec
Indexes 16+ million journal articles and conference papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science. Also good for related disciplines like geophysics, astronomy, mechanical engineering, biomedical engineering, ocean engineering, and acoustics. Indexes IEEE conference papers and standards. ****You can now cross search with Compendex for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate results can be removed.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.
SciFinder
One the most comprehensive indexes to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search millions of articles, patents, and conference proceedings and abstracts, the CAS Registry of millions chemical substances (many include property data), and the CASREACT database of chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance by name, registry number, or structures. Includes an editor for drawing structures, and you can import structures from ChemDraw,

Access is limited to UC San Diego faculty, staff, and students. First-time users must register via https://cdlib.org/services/info-services/instruct/scifinder/ - VPN required if off campus.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

Preprint Servers

arXiv
arXiv currently serves the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
engrXiv
engrXiv is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.
medRxiv
medRxiv is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.