Business: Companies

Use this guide as a first stop to finding and using the business and management related resources of the UC San Diego Library.

Resources for Company News & Background

These items are useful for market research, competitive intelligence and following what's going on with individual companies. The first three links serve well as starting points because they are the most broadly-useful databases that cover all kinds of international public and private companies. The rest of the items have more limited use but function very well in the domains they address, so may be helpful when further information is sought.

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives, product lines and key competitors..

Gale Business Insights

Market Share Reporter & Business Rankings Annual (in Gale Business Insights)
Use the Advanced Search form in Gale Business Insights to hone in on market share/rankings information on companies & industries. Simply input your search term in the top and click the market share/rankings box under Content Type.

Business Source Complete
Factiva
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Mergent Market Atlas This resource replaces Mergent Online in June 2025. It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views, SEC filings, and other reports.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Company Financials & Stock Quotes

Mergent Market Atlas This resource replaces Mergent Online in June 2025. It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views, SEC filings, and other reports.
Mergent Archives
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, public policy and public health statistics. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Market Atlas and Finaeon (formerly Global Financial Database) are your recommended alternatives.
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
Blockholders Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Data
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK constraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
MIDAS

EDGAR Database

Company Directories & Lists

These resources help you do quick company look-ups and/or create lists based on criteria like 'give me all the companies in San Diego that have under 250 employees.'

Rich's Business Directories for California
Uniworld Company Directories
more... less...

Search criteria can include geography, industry, size of company, and much more.
Gale Directory Library